Ripe time - between departure and nightmare

June 28 - September 12, 2020

exhibition
In a playful and irritating way, the eight artists in this exhibition create and comment on their own interior views of departure, questioning and participation.

Works
The range of works from the fields of painting, sculpture, video, performance and photography provides surprising and sometimes contradicting insights into the mental states and ways in which young people come to terms with life. They are about crises, narcissism, confrontation with physicality, insecurity, rebellion and fatalism in an increasingly insecure present.

Theme
I will stay young, youthful and alive as long as possible! My life doesn't end as long as I stay creative! Between this often hardly realizable, high self-claim and their often failing redeemability due to the circumstances, young people in particular can existentially despair - or, in the case of artistic productions, transform this situation into something future, critical, deviant. While hundreds of thousands of adolescents in Germany and large parts of Europe are increasingly politicizing themselves at Fridays for Future and thus demonstrating a maturity that is surprising for many adults, tendencies of extreme uncertainty have not only been observed among young people since Corona at the latest. The range of emotional sensitivities of the “young generation” in particular is shaped by permanent self-observation on Snapchat, Instagram or Youtube.

more
In a playful and irritating way, the eight artists in this exhibition create and comment on their own interior views of departure, questioning and participation. In doing so, they test our ideas of adolescence in the broadest sense. Artists are used to exploring and expanding their own life with their works like an eternal, never-ending MATURITY. The range of works from the fields of painting, sculpture, video, performance and photography provides surprising and sometimes contradicting insights into the mental states and ways in which young people come to terms with life. They are about crises, narcissism, confrontation with physicality, insecurity, rebellion and fatalism in an increasingly insecure present.

Michael Kroeger

Participating artists

- Nevin Aladag
- Marco Castillo
- Monica Czosnowska
- Clemens Krauss
- Simone Lucas
- Carlos Martiel
- Britta Thie
- Tobias Zielony

Curator

- Michael Kroeger
- Elisabeth Lumme

With kind support

Become a sponsor>

Participating artists

in detail

Nevin Aladag, "Top View", Photo: video still, 2012 Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin, © VG BILD KUNST BONN 2020

Nevin Aladag * 1972 Van / Turkey

works in the medium of installation and performance and lives in Berlin

In a fast-paced sequence of dancing pairs of feet, "Top View" creates an almost physically perceptible feeling of freedom, desire for movement and a quick sense of rhythm. In the dance rhythms that each person's two feet perform, the light-heartedness and lightness of an early phase of life can be felt: a time in which everything seems possible.

Her work is about self-determination, role reversal, external perception and multiple perspectives. (cited after: Sabine Maria Schmidt, Kunstforum 262)

Marco Castillo, “Generación”, 2019, video, color, sound, 16: 9 HD, 6:45 minutes, © Courtesy of the artist and KOW, Berlin, Madrid; Video still: Marco Castillo

Marco Castillo * 1971

Lives and works as in Havana and Madrid

The video “Generación” (2019) focuses on the wounds that state repression mechanisms have inflicted on the generation of Cuban millennials since the 70s. The gathering of young people from today's intellectual scene in the 70s architecture reflects the tension between the modernist utopias of the early revolutionary years and the loss of aesthetic freedom due to censorship.

“In a way, I want to transfer the viewer to the role of the person concerned, in order to make him aware of the profound damage that extremist and stigmatizing opinions cause in people.” - Marco Castillo, in “Greetings from Havana, Contemporary Cuban Art in an International Context.

Monika Czosnowska, “Kristian”, 2006, “Helena” 2006, C_ Print 40 x 60 cm, from the series “Portraits”; © the artist

Monica Czosnowska * 1977 Stettin / Poland

The two portraits come from Monika Czosnowska's series "Portrait" (since 2005)

Both the boy and the girl look at their surroundings with an almost adult-looking seriousness. It is precisely in this time between childhood and the beginning of “maturity” that young people experience themselves for the first time as beings who are able to recognize themselves as people who have their lives and their future ahead of them.
Clemens Krauss, “Selbstportrait als Kind”, 2017, silicone, oil paint, own hair, © the artist; Photo: B. Borchardt

Clemens Krauss, * 1979 in Vienna

lives in Berlin and works in painting, installation and video. * 1979 in Vienna, lives in Berlin and works in painting, installation and video.

One of the most emphatic memories of one's own adolescence is the discovery of one's own developing physicality, which not infrequently triggers existential insecurity, fears and feelings of shame.

“Self-portrait as a child” (2017) was created using “20 photos of me between the ages of 11 and 13” (CK) and tries to capture memories of the emotional world of one's own childhood in a hyper-realistic body structure.

Simone Lucas * 1973 in Neuss, lives and works as a painter in Düsseldorf

Simone Lucas * 1973 in Neuss

lives and works as a painter in Düsseldorf

Simone Lucas stages a young fantasy figure in the uncertain zone between existence and appearance. The peculiar "rose devil", readable as an angel and as a devil, touches a painted brief note "I don't exist" with his left foot and thus reminds of the beginning of existential doubts, which are not atypical in puberty.

“Depth” contrasts a seemingly lost figure on a springboard with flat color fields - is the fear of jumping perhaps also an image of the desire to enter the unknown, painted world of art?

Photo credits: Carlos Martiel, “Prodigal Son”, 2010, video, color, sound, 16: 9 HD, 2:27 minutes, © the artist

Carlos Martiel * 1989 Havana / Cuba

lives and works in the medium of installation and performance in New York

The video “Prodigal Son” (“The Prodigal Son”) arouses associations with extremely body-related initiation rites and at the same time raises questions about autobiographical and political references. On his knees, the artist staples medals that the Cuban state has given his father as a police officer directly onto the skin of his upper body.

Whether this painful act is a rebellion by the artist against the revolutionary willingness to make sacrifices demanded by the state or an attempt to approach the oversized father figure remains open.

Britta Thie, "Powerbank QTs", 2016-2018, 120 x 290 x 125 cm mixed media, © VG BILD KUNST BONN 2020

Britta Thie * 1987 Minden

lives and works as an artist, model and actress in Berlin

The video “Powerbanks” (2018) creates a scenario in a consumer temple for electronic devices, an “autofictional Big Brother” (Britta Thie), in which the young protagonists indulge their uninhibited consumerism and generational coolness at the same time.

The expansive piece of furniture that the artist designed as an oasis with digital resources for a young audience is correspondingly cool.

Photo credit: Tobias Zielony, 1. TZ / PH 2018_9, Gabriel, 2018, Archival pigment print, 69 x 46 cm, 6 + 2AP, Courtesy Galerie KOW Berlin

Tobias Zielony * 1973

lives as an artist, filmmaker and photographer in Berlin

One focus of his work as a photographer is the sympathetic, “documentary” appearance of youthful subculture. His photographic work shows young people in all their coolness, hardness and vulnerability, lust for life and existential border movements. His pictures reveal empathy and affection.

In his new “Golden Series” (2018), Zielony continues his work on underground culture in post-Soviet societies in the Latvian capital Riga. The protagonists in Zielony's pictures use fashion, piercing, tattoos and graffiti to rewrite intimate and shared identities.

Sponsors

Sievert Foundation for Science and Culture

Duties of the foundation are the promotion of research and teaching, education, art and culture as well as international understanding. The foundation realizes its projects in particular in connection with the University of Osnabrück and the University of Osnabrück. Artistic and cultural events are primarily supported in the Osnabrück region and should have an international connection.

Reifezeit – Zwischen Aufbruch und Albtraum

28. Juni – 12. September 2020

Ausstellung
In ebenso spielerischer wie irritierender Weise erschaffen und kommentieren die acht KünstlerInnen und Künstler dieser Ausstellung eigene Innenansichten von Aufbruch, Infragestellung und Anteilname.

Werke
Die Bandbreite an Werken aus den Bereichen Malerei, Skulptur, Video, Performance und Fotografie vermittelt überraschende und zum Teil widersprüchliche Einblicke in Seelenzustände und Formen von Daseinsbewältigung junger Menschen. Sie handeln von Krisen, Narzissmus, Auseinandersetzung mit Körperlichkeit, Unsicherheit, Rebellion und Fatalismus in einer immer unsicherer werdenden Gegenwart.

Thema
Ich bleibe so lange jung, jugendlich und lebendig wie möglich! Mein Leben endet nicht, solange ich kreativ bleibe! Zwischen diesem häufig kaum zu realisierenden, hohen Selbstanspruch und deren nicht selten an den Verhältnissen scheiternder Einlösbarkeit können gerade junge Menschen existentiell verzweifeln – oder im Fall von künstlerischen Produktionen diesen Zustand in etwas Zukünftiges, Kritisches, Abweichendes zu verwandeln. Während sich in Deutschland und weiten Teilen Europas hunderttausende Heranwachsende bei Fridays for Future zunehmend politisieren und damit eine für viele Erwachsene überraschende Reife demonstrieren, lassen sich spätestens seit Corona nicht nur bei Jugendlichen Tendenzen extremer Verunsicherung beobachten. Die Bandbreite emotionaler Befindlichkeiten gerade der “jungen Generation” ist durch permanente Selbstbeobachtung auf Snapchat, Instagram oder Youtube – geprägt.

mehr
In ebenso spielerischer wie irritierender Weise erschaffen und kommentieren die acht KünstlerInnen und Künstler dieser Ausstellung eigene Innenansichten von Aufbruch, Infragestellung und Anteilname. Dabei testen sie im weitesten Sinne unsere Vorstellungen von Adoleszenz. KünstlerInnen sind es gewohnt, ihr eigenes Leben mit ihren Werken wie eine ewige, nie enden wollende REIFEZEIT zu erforschen und zu erweitern. Die Bandbreite an Werken aus den Bereichen Malerei, Skulptur, Video, Performance und Fotografie vermittelt überraschende und zum Teil widersprüchliche Einblicke in Seelenzustände und Formen von Daseinsbewältigung junger Menschen. Sie handeln von Krisen, Narzissmus, Auseinandersetzung mit Körperlichkeit, Unsicherheit, Rebellion und Fatalismus in einer immer unsicherer werdenden Gegenwart.

Michael Kröger

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

– Nevin Aladag
– Marco Castillo
– Monica Czosnowska
– Clemens Krauss
– Simone Lucas
– Carlos Martiel
– Britta Thie
– Tobias Zielony

Kurator*In

– Michael Kröger
– Elisabeth Lumme

Mit freundlicher Unterstüztung

Sponsor werden >

Teilnehmende Künstler/Innen

im Detail

Nevin Aladag, „Top View“, Foto: video still, 2012 Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin, © VG BILD KUNST BONN 2020

Nevin Aladag* 1972 Van / Türkei

arbeitet im Medium Installation und Performance und lebt in Berlin

In einer rasant geschnitten Folge von jeweils tanzenden Fußpaaren erzeugt „Top View“ ein fast körperlich spürbares Gefühl von Freiheit, Bewegungslust und schnellem Rhythmusgefühl. In den Tanzrhythmen, den jeweils die beiden Füße einer Person vorführen, wird die Unbeschwertheit und Leichtigkeit einer frühen Lebensphase spürbar: einer Zeit, in der allesmöglich erscheint.

Ihre Arbeiten handeln von Selbstbestimmung, Rollentausch, Fremdwahrnehmung und Multiperspektivität. (zit. n.: Sabine Maria Schmidt, Kunstforum 262)

Marco Castillo, „Generación“, 2019, Video, Farbe, Ton, 16:9 HD, 6:45 Minuten, © Courtesy of the artist and KOW, Berlin, Madrid; Videostill: Marco Castillo

Marco Castillo *1971

Lebt und arbeitet als in Havanna und Madrid

Das Video „Generación“ (2019) lenkt den Blick auf die Wunden, die staatliche Repressionsmechanismen seit den 70er Jahren der Generation der kubanischen Millennials zugefügt haben. Die Zusammenkunft junger Menschen der heutigen Intellektuellenszene in der 70er Jahre Architekturspiegelt das Spannungsfeld zwischen den modernistischen Utopien der frühen Revolutionsjahre und dem Verlust an ästhetischen Freiheiten durch Zensur.

„In gewisser Weise will ich den Betrachterin die Rolle des Betroffenen versetzen, um ihm den tiefgreifenden Schaden bewusst zu machen, den extremistische und stigmatisierende Meinungen im Menschen anrichten.“ – Marco Castillo, in „Liebesgrüße aus Havanna, Zeitgenössische Kubanische Kunst im internationalen Kontext.

Monika Czosnowska, „Kristian“, 2006, „Helena“ 2006, C_ Print 40 x 60 cm, aus der Serie „Portraits“; © die Künstlerin

Monica Czosnowska *1977 Stettin/Polen

Die beiden Portraits stammen aus Monika Czosnowskas Serie „Portrait“ (seit 2005)

Beide, der Junge wie auch das Mädchen, betrachten mit einer fast erwachsen wirkenden Ernsthaftigkeit ihre Umgebung. Genau in dieser Zeit zwischen Kindheit und beginnender „Reifezeit“ erfahren sich junge Menschen erstmals als Wesen, die in der Lage sind, sich selbst als Personen zu erkennen, die ihre Leben und ihre Zukunft noch vor sich haben werden.
Clemens Krauss, „Selbstportrait als Kind“, 2017, Silikon, Ölfarbe, Eigenhaar,© der Künstler; Foto: B. Borchardt

Clemens Krauss ,*1979 in Wien

lebt in Berlin und arbeitet in den Medien Malerei, Installation und Video.*1979 in Wien, lebt in Berlin und arbeitet in den Medien Malerei, Installation und Video.

Zu den nachdrücklichsten Erinnerungen an die eigene Adoleszenz gehört die Entdeckung der jeweils eigenen, sich entwickelnden Körperlichkeit, die nicht selten existentielle Unsicherheit, Ängste und Schamgefühle auslöst.

Das „Selbstportrait als Kind“ (2017) entstand mithilfe von „20 Fotos von mir im Alter zwischen 11 und 13 Jahren“ (C.K.) und versucht, Erinnerungen an die Gefühlswelt der eigenen Kindheit in ein hyperrealistisches Körper-Gebilde zu bannen.

Simone Lucas * 1973 in Neuss, lebt und arbeitet als Malerin in Düsseldorf

Simone Lucas * 1973 in Neuss

lebt und arbeitet als Malerin in Düsseldorf

Simone Lucas inszeniert hier eine junge Phantasiefigur in der unsicheren Zone zwischen Sein und Schein. Der eigenartige, als Engel und als Teufel lesbare „Rosenteufel“ berührt mit dem linken Fuß einen gemalten kurzen Hinweis „Mich gibt es nicht“ und erinnert so an beginnende Existenzzweifel, die in der Pubertät nicht untypisch sind.

„Tiefe“ kontrastiert eine verloren wirkende Figur auf einem Sprungbrett mit stark flächigen Farbfeldern – ist die Angst vor dem Sprung vielleicht auch ein Bild für die Lust, sich in die unbekannte gemalte Welt von Kunst zu geben?

Fotonachweis: Carlos Martiel, „Prodigal Son“, 2010, Video, Farbe, Ton, 16:9 HD, 2:27 Minuten, © der Künstler

Carlos Martiel*1989 Havanna / Cuba

lebt und arbeitet im Medium Installation und Performance in New York

Das Video „Prodigal Son“ („Der verlorene Sohn“) weckt Assoziationen an extrem körperbezogene Initiationsriten und wirft gleichzeitig Fragen zu autobiografischen sowie politischen Bezügen auf. Kniend heftet der Künstler Orden, die der kubanische Staat seinem Vater als Polizeioffizier verliehen hat, direkt in die Haut seines Oberkörpers.

Ob dieser schmerzhafte Akt eine Auflehnung des Künstlers gegen die vom Staat eingeforderte revolutionäre Opferbereitschaft ist oder der Versuch einer Annäherung an die übergroße Vaterfigur, bleibt offen.

Britta Thie, „Powerbank QTs“, 2016-2018, 120 x 290 x 125 cm Mixed Media, © VG BILD KUNST BONN 2020

Britta Thie * 1987 Minden

lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Model und Schauspielerin in Berlin

Das Video „Powerbanks“ (2018), entwirft in einem Konsumtempel für elektronische Geräte ein Szenario, ein „autofiktionales Big Brother“ (Britta Thie), in dem die jugendlichen Protagonisten sich gleichzeitig ihrer hemmungslosen Konsumlust und generationstypischen Coolness hingeben.

Entsprechend cool ist auch das raumgreifende Möbelstück, das die Künstlerin als Oase mit digitalen Ressourcen gerade für ein jugendliches Publikum entworfen hat.

Fotonachweis: Tobias Zielony, 1. TZ/PH 2018_9, Gabriel, 2018, Archival pigment print, 69 x 46 cm, 6 + 2AP, Courtesy Galerie KOW Berlin

Tobias Zielony * 1973

lebt als Künstler, Filmemacher und Fotograf in Berlin

Ein Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit als Fotograf besteht in der Anteil nehmenden, „dokumentarisch“ wirkenden Präsenz jugendlicher Subkultur. Seine fotografischen Arbeiten zeigen Jugendliche in all ihrer Coolness, Härte und Verletzlichkeit, Lebenslust und existenziellen Grenzbewegungen. Seine Bilder verraten Einfühlungsvermögen und Zugewandtheit.

In seiner neuen „Golden Series“ (2018) setzt Zielony seine Arbeit über die Untergrundkultur in den postsowjetischen Gesellschaften in der lettischen Hauptstadt Riga fort. Die Protagonisten in Zielonys Bildern nutzen Mode, Piercing, Tätowierungen und Graffiti, um intime und gemeinsame Identitäten neu zu schreiben.

Sponsor

Sievert Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Kultur

Aufgaben der Stiftung sind die Förderung der Forschung und der Lehre, der Bildung, der Kunst und Kultur sowie der Völkerverständigung. Die Stiftung verwirklicht ihre Vorhaben insbesondere in Verbindung mit der Universität Osnabrück und der Hochschule Osnabrück. Künstlerische und kulturelle Veranstaltungen werden vornehmlich in der Region Osnabrück unterstützt und sollten einen internationalen Bezug aufweisen.

Tags: Reifezeit
EnglishDeutsch