See Me - Touch Me

Peter Bogers (NL), Guillaume Bruère (F), Josephine Garbe (D), Benedikt Hipp (D)

February 26 - April 8, 2022

Josephine Garbe. Fuck off, 2019, photograph (detail)

About Josephine Garbe

The videos, photos, sculptures, installations, performances and sound works by the artist Josephine Garbe focus on the body, its transformation and interpersonal relationships. Proximity and distance are often experienced as an oscillating process between attraction and repulsion.

About Guillaume Bruere

In the run-up to the exhibition, Guillaume Bruère spent two days working with the homeless in the day-care center of the social services in Osnabrück. Ten portraits emerged from these encounters, which can be seen in the exhibition along with other works by the artist. With his work, Guillaume Bruère wants to help people who otherwise live more or less invisibly on the fringes of society to gain more visibility. “All portraits are a kind of homage to the portrayed. It's about catching a part of their personality – like delicate butterflies with a net.” (Guillaume Bruère)

We thank the team of the social services SKM gGmbH for the cooperation.

exhibition

Ambivalent psychological and physical states between attraction and repulsion, seduction, voyeurism and obsessive surveillance that literally come to grips with the individual by Peter Bogers, Josephine Garbe, Benedikt Hipp and others.

Learn more

In the third year of the corona pandemic, the art space hase29 is dedicated to the experience of closeness and distance, which has become a basic condition of society in a state of emergency. While the requirement for social distancing is often perceived as problematic because it has more or less dominated everyone's everyday life since the beginning of 2020, this exhibition aims to examine the tension between closeness and distance in different thematic contexts. To what extent do social codes of conduct and norms determine the relationship between closeness and distance in everyday life? Where are boundaries implied or made explicit for the benefit or disadvantage of individuals and society, and where are they crossed overtly or covertly? The exhibition presents the works of 4 artists who make very different levels of experience of closeness and distance tangible in an intensive way.

Events

Artist talk with Josephine Garbe and Guillaume Bruere

Thursday, March 31.03.2022, 19, 00:21 p.m. to 15:XNUMX p.m

In cooperation with the VHS Osnabrueck
Admission: €7/ reduced €5 (members of the art space hase29 have free entry)

Registration: mail@hase29.de

Participating artists

Peter BogersGlued Eye Room installation in the exhibition 'From Seeing To Acting', Looiersgracht60 Amsterdam Sept/Oct 2021

Peter Bogers (*1965 in Dordrecht, NL; lives in Amsterdam)

The first thing that catches the eye in the expansive installation “Glued Eye” is a large projection of obviously “found” video material from (police?) surveillance. The drone or helicopter cameras follow fleeing people in urban space.

Peter Bogers, Glued Eye, room installation in: 'From Seeing To Acting', Looiersgracht60 Amsterdam Sept/Oct 2021

read more

A luminous thread runs from the projection surface through the room, connecting in a line the projection surface (A) with the video projector (B) and a moving eye on a small screen on the opposite wall (C). The glowing line connects the “human eye” with the fugitive. What is amazing is that the thread remains inseparably connected to the people, despite the hectic movement of the image. The artist achieves the centering effect using a self-developed algorithm that fixes the camera image to one point and thus keeps the projection constantly moving. The pursued person is thus permanently in the focus of the observation machine, they are "hanging on the leash" of the imaging apparatus and the "seeing machine", the human eye.

With his spatial installation "Glued Eye" (fixed eye), Peter Bogers draws attention to various aspects of seeing and its technical means. On the one hand, media technology creates an obtrusive closeness that the observed object cannot escape. On the other hand, the eye remains at an immovable distance from the object, the fleeing. The artist addresses seeing as image processing, in that what is seen seems to follow the rules of the seer. Is it the eye of the beholder? Or of the ego, of society, of the system?

CV Peter Bogers

Peter Bogers, born 1956 in Dordrecht (NL), studied fine arts, specializing in sculpture, at the renowned Academy of St. Jost Brede (NL). He is considered one of the most well-known media artists in the Netherlands. His installations, videos and media works have been shown in numerous international group exhibitions and in solo exhibitions in Amsterdam, The Hague, Marseille, Osnabrück, Bremen, Stuttgart, Split, Beijing, Tokyo and Pittsburgh, among others.

Guillaume Bruère (*1976 in Châtellerault / Poitou in France, lives in Berlin)

Guillaume Bruère, Untitled (Selfportrait – my first white hair), May 11.5.2013, 240, 160 x XNUMX cm
drawing on paper

In addition to his sculptural and painterly work, the oeuvre of the French artist Guillaume Bruère includes a very extensive collection of highly virtuoso drawings. Regardless of whether he goes to the large collections of international museums to trace historical works there - in the tradition of the copyists - or whether he portrays living people, his individual style is characterized by intensive colors and vibrant lines.

read more

With a quick and at the same time masterly gesture, he captures what he sees and captures it on paper. In doing so, he spontaneously and intuitively adds various details and finally creates his own imaginative world of curious creatures somewhere between human and animal or between man and woman, some of which also have multiple legs or heads. But what can these artistic “mutations” be traced back to? Did the models of the large-format portraits simply move during the hour-long session, or are the inner worlds of the portrayed, clairvoyantly captured by the draftsman, revealed here?

The eye is a recurring motif in the works of Guillaume Bruère - as a kind of "gateway to the soul" it is an important mediator between the artist and his counterpart. Occasionally, however, the entire room is reflected in the eyeball, so that the perspective of the viewer is expanded and the gaze is thrown back at themselves. Who is actually looking at whom here? – During the corona pandemic, many people were forced to limit their encounters to those close to them. During this time, Bruère completed a series of portraits of his own family in a single day. Although he places each face on a separate piece of paper, the uniform style with sharp pencil outlines and lively watercolor coloring as well as the common framing clearly mark the portrayed as a cohesive group.

Portrait studies in the day apartment for the homeless

In the run-up to the exhibition, the "extreme draftsman" will work for two days in the day-to-day apartment for homeless people of the SKM gGmbH social services.

read more

The portrait drawings are presented in the exhibition in such a way that passers-by can also see them outside of opening hours, day and night. With his work, the artist wants to give people more visibility who otherwise live more or less invisibly on the fringes of society. “All portraits are a kind of homage to the portrayed. It's about catching a part of their personality – like delicate butterflies with a net.” (Guillaume Bruère)

We would like to thank the team of the social services SKM gGmbH and the editors "offside". The street newspaper for the homeless will report on artist Guillaume Bruère's campaign in one of the next issues.

CV Guillaume Bruere

Guillaume Bruere, born 1976 in Châtellerault/Poitou in France, lives in Berlin. He studied at the École des Beaux-Arts de Nantes and the École européenne supérieure de l'image in Poitiers. His works have been shown in numerous national and international exhibitions such as in the Kunsthaus Zurich in Switzerland, Picasso Museum Paris in France or in Martha Herford.

 

Josephine Garbe (*1991 in Berlin, lives in Lemgo / Düsseldorf)

Josephine Garbe, I'll show you, 2017, video: 33:47 min.

Josephine Garbe, NOW NOW NOW, 2022, dimensions variable, 10 embroidered linen towels

The videos, photos, sculptures, installations, performances and sound works by the artist Josephine Garbe focus on the body, its transformation and interpersonal relationships. Proximity and distance are often experienced as an oscillating process between attraction and repulsion.

read more

The viewer of the video “Zeig ich” (2017) encounters a grotesque counterpart: the artist’s clay-covered face appears deformed. Accompanied by strangely desperate sighs, this encounter evokes irritation: should we laugh at this bizarre masquerade or does the figure rather trigger our sympathy?

The repeated declaration of love in the sound installation "I wonder, wonder don't you?" (2020) also unexpectedly turns into its opposite. In its annoying urgency, the statement "I love you" finally reveals itself as an empty phrase. – With her embroidery on linen towels, the artist refers to the centuries-old Japanese tradition of woodcuts. The so-called "Ukiyo-e" (Eng. "Images of the Flowing World"), which were often printed on textiles in the past, show everyday scenes, including love scenes. By enlarging the outlines of a historical woodcut of two bodies engaged in lovemaking onto different cloths, the artist dissects the scene into various fragments. The original, erotic character of the motif only reveals itself again when you look at it intimately and carefully open the cloth.

CV Josephine Garbe

Josephine Garbe, Born in Berlin in 1991, lives and works in Cologne and Lemgo. She studied at the Braunschweig University of Art and at the Düsseldorf Art Academy. She is currently the winner of the Young Art Scholarship of the Old Hanseatic City of Lemgo and the Staff Foundation in Lemgo. Her work “NOW NOW NOW” was also created here.

Benedikt Hipp (*1977 in Munich, lives near Munich)

Benedikt Hipp, AEON, 2021, video loop, 12:42 min, video still, Courtesy: Monitor, Rome, Kadel Willborn, Düsseldorf, Benedikt Hipp
Production : German Academy Rome Villa Massimo, Rome IT

Sound collage with excerpts from the radio play "Hyperbolic bodies" Andrea Geissler.
composition and direction Ulrike Haage, Video sound montage: Sebastian Zwang 

Benedikt Hipp, AEON lw5, 2020, dimensions: 60 x 22 x 5 cm, ceramic, natural ash on flight glaze, photo: Max Reitmeier
Courtesy: Monitor, Rome, Kadel Willborn, Düsseldorf, Benedikt Hipp

A foot formed into an amulet, frozen in awkward movement, is much too big and heavy to be able to develop magical powers as a necklace. Nevertheless, Benedikt Hipps' ceramic sculptures, which are made in an open clay firing, evoke images of cult objects or votive offerings that represent a wish, a request or a thank you in spiritual contexts.

read more

In his search for the strange and the unexpected, Benedikt Hipp gives a lot of space to the open-ended process in his artistic exploration. The amorphous forms and surfaces made of clay reveal the process of their creation and thus refer to the becoming and passing away of the corporeal of earthly existence.

In his high-resolution video animation "AEON" (2021), the ceramics mutate into planets, which the viewer encounters in a virtual, interplanetary space journey in a new and strange way. In doing so, they perform a change of perspective in the exhibition when, coming from the close-up view of haptic ceramic surfaces, they allow themselves to be fascinated by the virtuoso filmed gliding flight. Sucked into the weightlessness of the orbit, the gaze is drawn from the singular and familiar to the great unknown. There, the individual object no longer stands for itself, but for a whole that appears to be unexplored in terms of its dimensions. The new constellation of interwoven objects creates new relationships and rules, the abolition of physical laws releases ideas and opens a view of fascinating free spaces and one's own location.

CV Benedict Hipp

Benedict Hipp born in Munich in 1977, lives and works in the Munich area. Since 2017 he has been a guest lecturer at the Zurich University of the Arts, ZHdK, in Switzerland. In 2020/21 he had a grant from Villa Massimo, Rome, in Italy, where the video and objects were created. His works have been shown in numerous national and international exhibitions such as the Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt, the CAPC in Bordeaux and the Haus der Kunst in Munich.

“AEON” meets “Hyperbolic Bodies”

 

Sound collage with excerpts from the radio play "Hyperbolic Bodies" by Andrea Geißler.
Composition and direction Ulrike Haage.

On the occasion of the exhibition, Benedikt Hipp invited the radio play author Andrea Geißler to include excerpts from her play »Hyperbolic Bodies«. The video is thus expanded to a new level and makes the journey through the orbit imaginable as a flight through the curved, ever-changing space. Andrea Geißler's sound collage of texts and music (composition by Ulrike Haage) can be heard in the video room as independent acoustic recordings. The Radio play is in the SWR media library accessible.

A Kovalevskaya spinning top was constructed and set in motion for the radio play. 
Roundabout and photo: Philipp Fiedler

hyperbolic bodies

The two mathematicians Maryam Mirzakhani and Sofia Kovalevskaja dealt with the calculation and representation of irregular bodies. In the case of Sofia Kovalevskaja, it was a spinning top whose rotation follows a choreography of regular and irregular movements. The top has a changing shape, depending on the moment of rotation it is.

Maryam Mirzakhani found ways to calculate hyperbolic solids, irregular solids that can have holes and are located in hyperbolic space, a space with constant negative curvature.

In a mathematical utopia, the two mathematicians try to find a way to change the shape of our human bodies: what if we could become hyperbolic bodies? (Andrea Geissler)

CV Andrea Geissler

Andrea Geissler, born in 1986, is an author and radio editor at Hessischer Rundfunk. She writes prose, poetry and radio plays. In 2010 she was a prizewinner at the North-East Literature Prize. Her radio play debut »Hyperbolic Bodies« was awarded the audience prize at the ARD Hörspieltage 2020.

Sponsors

Participating artist

Peter Bogers (NL), Guillaume Bruère (F), Benedikt Hipp (D), Josephine Garbe (D)

 

Curators

Friederike Fast, Elisabeth Lumme, Hermann Noering

EnglishDeutsch

See Me – Touch Me

Peter Bogers (NL), Guillaume Bruère (F), Josephine Garbe (D), Benedikt Hipp (D)

26. Februar –  8. April 2022

Josephine Garbe. Fuck Off, 2019, Fotografie (Ausschnitt)

Über Josephine Garbe

In den Videos, Fotos, Skulpturen, Installationen, Performances und Soundarbeiten der Künstlerin Josephine Garbe stehen der Körper, seine Verwandlung sowie zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen im Fokus. Nähe und Distanz werden dabei oftmals als ein pendelnder Prozess zwischen Anziehung und Abstoßung erfahren.

Über Guillaume Bruère

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung hat Guillaume Bruère an zwei Tagen in der Tageswohnung der Sozialen Dienste Osnabrück mit Wohnungslosen gearbeitet. Aus diesen Begegnungen sind zehn Portraits hervorgegangen, die neben weiteren Werken des Künstlers in der Ausstellung zu sehen sind. Guillaume Bruère möchte mit seiner Arbeit Menschen zu mehr Sichtbarkeit verhelfen, die ansonsten mehr oder weniger unsichtbar am Rande der Gesellschaft leben. „Alle Portraits sind eine Art Huldigung an die Portraitierten. Es geht darum, einen Teil ihrer Persönlichkeit zu erhaschen – wie zarte Schmetterlinge mit einem Netz.“ (Guillaume Bruère)

Wir danken dem Team der Sozialen Dienste SKM gGmbH für die Kooperation.

Ausstellung

Ambivalente psychische wie physische Zustände zwischen Anziehung und Abstoßung, Verführung, Voyeurismus und obsessiver Überwachung, die dem Individuum buchstäblich zu Leibe rücken von Peter Bogers, Josephine Garbe, Benedikt Hipp und anderen.

mehr

Im dritten Jahr der Corona-Pandemie widmet sich der Kunstraum hase29 der Erfahrung von Nähe und Distanz, die zu einer Grundbefindlichkeit der Gesellschaft im Ausnahmezustand geworden ist. Während das Gebot zum Social Distancing oft als problematisch wahrgenommen wird, weil es den Alltag eines jeden Menschen seit Beginn 2020 mehr oder weniger dominiert, soll in dieser Ausstellung das Spannungsfeld von Nähe und Distanz in unterschiedlichen thematischen Zusammenhängen untersucht werden. Inwiefern bestimmen gesellschaftliche Verhaltenskodexe und Normen das Verhältnis von Nähe und Distanz im Alltag? Wo werden Grenzen zum Wohle oder Nachteil des Einzelnen und der Gesellschaft implizit angedeutet oder explizit hergestellt, und wo werden sie offen oder verdeckt übertreten? Die Ausstellung stellt die Werke von 4 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern vor, die sehr unterschiedliche Erfahrungsebenen von Nähe und Distanz auf intensive Weise erfahrbar machen.

Veranstaltung

Künstler:innengespräch mit Josephine Garbe und Guillaume Bruère

Donnerstag, 31.03.2022 Uhrzeit 19:00–21:15 Uhr

In Kooperation mit der VHS Osnabrück
Eintritt: 7,- €/ erm. 5,- €  (Mitglieder des Kunstraums hase29 haben freien Eintritt)

Anmeldung: mail@hase29.de

Teilnehmende Künstler*innen

Peter Bogers, Glued Eye, Rauminstallation in der Ausstellung ‘From Seeing To Acting’, Looiersgracht60 Amsterdam Sept/Okt 2021

Peter Bogers (*1965 in Dordrecht, NL; lebt in Amsterdam)

In der raumgreifenden Installation „Glued Eye“ fällt zunächst eine große Projektion von offensichtlich „gefundenem“ Videomaterial von (polizeilichen?) Überwachungen auf. Die Dronen- oder Helikopterkameras verfolgen flüchtende Menschen im Stadtraum.

Peter Bogers, Glued Eye, Rauminstallation in: ‘From Seeing To Acting’, Looiersgracht60 Amsterdam Sept/Okt 2021

weiterlesen

Von der Projektionsfläche aus verläuft ein leuchtender Faden durch den Raum, der in einer Linie die Projektionsfläche (A) mit dem Videoprojektor (B) und einem bewegten Auge auf einem kleinen Bildschirm auf der gegenüberliegenden Wand (C) verbindet. Die leuchtende Linie verknüpft so das „menschliche Auge“ mit dem Flüchtenden. Hierbei wirkt verblüffend, dass der Faden trotz hektischer Bildbewegungen unlösbar mit den Personen verbunden bleibt. Den Zentrierungseffekt erzielt der Künstler durch einen selbstentwickelten Algorithmus, der das Kamerabild auf einen Punkt fixiert und so die Projektion ständig in Bewegung hält. Die verfolgte Person steht so permanent im Fokus der Beobachtungsmaschine, sie „hängt an der Leine“ des bildgebenden Apparats und der „Sehmaschine“, dem menschlichen Auge.

Peter Bogers lenkt mit seiner Rauminstallation „Glued Eye“ (fixiertes Auge) die Aufmerksamkeit auf verschiedene Aspekte des Sehens und seine technischen Mittel. Einerseits erzeugt die Medientechnologie eine aufdringliche Nähe, der sich das beobachtete Objekt nicht entziehen kann. Andererseits bleibt das Auge auf unverrückbare Distanz zum Objekt, dem Fliehenden. Der Künstler thematisiert das Sehen als Imageprocessing, indem das Gesehene den Regeln des Sehenden zu folgen scheint. Ist es das Auge der Betrachter*innen? Oder des Ichs, der Gesellschaft, des Systems?

CV Peter Bogers

Peter Bogers, geboren 1956 in Dordrecht (NL), studierte Bildende Kunst, Schwerpunkt Skulptur, an der renommierten Akademie St. Jost Brede (NL). Er gilt als einer der bekanntesten Medienkünstler der Niederlande. Seine Installationen, Videos und medialen Werke wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Gruppenausstellungen und in Einzelausstellungen u. a. in Amsterdam, Den Haag, Marseille, Osnabrück, Bremen, Stuttgart, Split, Beijing, Tokio und Pittsburgh gezeigt.

Guillaume Bruère (*1976 in Châtellerault / Poitou in Frankreich, lebt in Berlin)

Guillaume Bruère, Ohne Titel / Untitled (Selfportrait – my first white hair), 11.5.2013, 240 x 160 cm
Zeichnung auf Papier

Neben seiner skulpturalen und malerischen Arbeit umfasst das Oeuvre des französischen Künstlers Guillaume Bruère ein sehr umfassendes Konvolut höchst virtuoser Zeichnungen. Ganz gleich ob er sich in die großen Sammlungen internationaler Museen begibt, um dort – ganz in der Tradition der Kopisten – historische Werke nachzuzeichnen, oder ob er lebende Personen portraitiert, sein individueller Stil ist geprägt von einer intensiven Farbgebung und einer vibrierenden Linienführung.

weiterlesen

Mit schneller und zugleich meisterhafter Geste fängt er das Gesehene ein und bannt es auf Papier. Dabei ergänzt er spontan-intuitiv verschiedene Details und kreiert schließlich eine eigene fantasievolle Welt kurioser Wesen zwischen Mensch und Tier oder zwischen Mann und Frau, die teils auch mit mehreren Beinen oder Köpfen ausgestattet sind. Doch worauf lassen sich diese künstlerischen „Mutationen“ zurückführen? Haben sich die Modelle der großformatigen Portraits in der rund einstündigen Sitzung einfach nur bewegt oder offenbaren sich hier vielmehr die vom Zeichner hellseherisch eingefangenen Innenwelten der Portraitierten?

Das Auge ist ein wiederkehrendes Motiv in den Arbeiten von Guillaume Bruère – als eine Art „Tor zur Seele“ ist es ein wichtiger Mittler zwischen dem Künstler und seinem Gegenüber. Gelegentlich spiegelt sich aber auch der gesamte Raum in dem Augapfel wider, so dass die Perspektive der Betrachtenden erweitert und der Blick quasi auf sie selbst zurückgeworfen wird. Wer betrachtet hier eigentlich wen? – Während der Corona-Pandemie waren viele Menschen dazu gezwungen, ihre Begegnungen auf die Kontakte mit Nahestehenden zu beschränken. In dieser Zeit fertigte Bruère an einem einzigen Tag eine Reihe von Portraits seiner eigenen Familie. Obwohl er jedes Gesicht auf einem separaten Papier platziert, markieren der einheitliche Stil mit scharfer Bleistiftkontur und lebendiger Aquarellkolorierung sowie die gemeinsame Rahmung die Portraitierten eindeutig als eine zusammengehörige Gruppe.

Portraitstudien in der Tageswohnung für Wohnungslose

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung wird der „Extremzeichner“ an zwei Tagen in der Tageswohnung für wohnungslose Menschen der des Sozialen Dienste SKM gGmbH arbeiten.

weiterlesen

Die Portraitzeichnungen werden in der Ausstellung so präsentiert, dass sie für Passanten auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten bei Tag und Nacht zu sehen sind. Der Künstler möchte mit seiner Arbeit Menschen zu mehr Sichtbarkeit verhelfen, die ansonsten mehr oder weniger unsichtbar am Rande der Gesellschaft leben. „Alle Portraits sind eine Art Huldigung an die Portraitierten. Es geht darum, einen Teil ihrer Persönlichkeit zu erhaschen – wie zarte Schmetterlinge mit einem Netz.“ (Guillaume Bruère)

Wir danken dem Team der Sozialen Dienste SKM gGmbH und der Redaktion „abseits“. Die Straßenzeitung der Wohnungslosenhilfe berichtet über die Aktion des Künstlers Guillaume Bruère in einer der nächsten Ausgaben.

CV Guillaume Bruère

Guillaume Bruère, geboren 1976 in Châtellerault/Poitou in Frankreich, lebt in Berlin. Er studierte an der École des Beaux-Arts de Nantes und der École européenne supérieure de l’image in Poitiers. Seine Werke waren in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Ausstellung zu sehen wie z.B. im Kunsthaus Zürich in der Schweiz, Musée Picasso Paris in Frankreich oder im Marta Herford.

 

Josephine Garbe (*1991 in Berlin, lebt in Lemgo / Düsseldorf)

Josephine Garbe, Zeig ich, 2017, Video: 33:47 Min.

Josephine Garbe, NOW NOW NOW, 2022, Maße Variabel, 10 bestickte Leinenhandtücher

In den Videos, Fotos, Skulpturen, Installationen, Performances und Soundarbeiten der Künstlerin Josephine Garbe stehen der Körper, seine Verwandlung sowie zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen im Fokus. Nähe und Distanz werden dabei oftmals als ein pendelnder Prozess zwischen Anziehung und Abstoßung erfahren.

weiterlesen

So begegnet den Betrachter*innen des Videos „Zeig ich“ (2017) ein groteskes Gegenüber: Das mit Ton bedeckte Gesicht der Künstlerin wirkt deformiert. Untermalt von seltsam verzweifelten Seufzern ruft diese Begegnung Irritationen hervor: Sollen wir über diese skurrile Maskerade lachen oder löst die Figur vielmehr unser Mitgefühl aus?

Die wiederholte Liebesbekundung in der Soundinstallation „I wonder, wonder don’t you?“ (2020) verkehrt sich ebenfalls unverhofft in ihr Gegenteil. In ihrer enervierenden Eindringlichkeit offenbart sich die Aussage „Ich liebe Dich“ schließlich als leere Floskel. – Mit ihren Stickereien auf Leinenhandtüchern bezieht sich die Künstlerin auf die jahrhundertealte, japanische Tradition des Holzschnitts. Die sogenannten „Ukiyo-e“ (dt. „Bilder der fließenden Welt“), die früher oftmals auch auf Textilien gedruckt wurden, zeigen Szenen des Alltags, darunter auch Liebeszenen. Indem die Künstlerin die Umrisslinien eines historischen Holzschnitts von zwei im Liebesakt vereinten Körpern stark vergrößert auf unterschiedliche Tücher überträgt, zerlegt sie die Szene in verschiedene Fragmente. Erst in der intimen Betrachtung und wenn man das Tuch vorsichtig aufschlägt, eröffnet sich erneut der ursprüngliche, erotische Charakter des Motivs.

CV Josephine Garbe

Josephine Garbe, 1991 geboren in Berlin, lebt und arbeitet in Köln und Lemgo. Sie studierte an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig und an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Aktuell ist sie Preisträgerin des Stipendiums Junge Kunst der Alten Hansestadt Lemgo und der Staff Stiftung in Lemgo. Hier entstand auch ihre Arbeit „NOW NOW NOW“.

Benedikt Hipp (*1977 in München, lebt bei München)

Benedikt Hipp, AEON, 2021, Video loop, 12:42 Min, Videostill, Courtesy: Monitor, Rome, Kadel Willborn, Düsseldorf, Benedikt Hipp
Production : Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo, Rom IT

Soundcollage mit Ausschnitten aus dem Hörspiel „Hyperbolische Körper“ von Andrea Geißler.
Komposition und Regie Ulrike Haage, Video-Ton-Montage: Sebastian Zwang 

Benedikt Hipp, AEON lw5, 2020, Maße: 60 x 22 x 5 cm, Keramik, natürliche Asche auf Flug Glasur, Foto: Max Reitmeier
Courtesy: Monitor, Rome, Kadel Willborn, Düsseldorf, Benedikt Hipp

Ein zu einem Amulett geformter, in ungelenker Bewegung erstarrter, Fuß ist viel zu groß und schwer, um als Halsschmuck magische Kräfte entfalten zu können. Dennoch wecken Benedikt Hipps in offenem Ton-Brand hergestellte, körperhaft anmutende, Keramikplastiken Vorstellungen von Kultobjekten oder Votivgaben, die in spirituellen Zusammenhängen einen Wunsch, eine Bitte oder einen Dank repräsentieren.

weiterlesen

Auf der Suche nach dem Fremden und Unerwarteten räumt Benedikt Hipp in seiner künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung dem ergebnisoffenen Prozess einen großen Raum ein. Die amorphen, aus Tonerde geschaffenen, Formen und Oberflächen lassen das Prozesshafte ihrer Entstehung erkennen und verweisen so auf das Werden und Vergehen des Körperhaften irdischer Existenz.

In seiner hochauflösenden Videoanimation „AEON“ (2021) mutieren die Keramiken zu Planeten, denen die Betrachtenden in einer virtuellen, interplanetaren Raumfahrt auf neue und fremde Weise begegnen. Dabei vollführen sie in der Ausstellung einen Perspektivwechsel, wenn sie sich von der Nahansicht haptischer Keramikoberflächen kommend, vom filmisch virtuos inszenierten Gleitflug in Bann ziehen lassen. Ins Schwerelose des Orbits hineingesogen, wird der Blick vom Singulären und Vertrauten auf das große Unbekannte gelenkt. Dort steht nicht mehr das einzelne Objekt für sich selbst, sondern für ein Ganzes, das in seinen Ausmaßen noch unerschlossen erscheint. Die neue Konstellation der miteinander verwobenen Objekte erzeugt neue Beziehungen und Regeln, die Aufhebung physikalischer Gesetzmäßigkeiten setzt Vorstellungen frei und öffnet den Blick auf faszinierende Freiräume und den eigenen Standort.

CV Benedikt Hipp

Benedikt Hipp geboren 1977 München, lebt und arbeitet im Raum München. Seit 2017 ist er Gastdozent an der Züricher Hochschule der Künste, ZHdK, in der Schweiz. Er hatte 2020/21 ein Stipendium der Villa Massimo, Rome, in Italien, wo Video und Objekte entstanden sind. Seine Werke waren in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Ausstellung zu sehen wie z.B. in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, dem CAPC Bordeaux oder dem Haus der Kunst München.

„AEON“ meets „Hyperbolische Körper“

 

Soundcollage mit Ausschnitten aus dem Hörspiel „Hyperbolische Körper“ von Andrea Geißler.
Komposition und Regie Ulrike Haage.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung hat Benedikt Hipp die Hörspielautorin Andrea Geißler eingeladen, Ausschnitte auch ihrem Stück »Hyperbolische Körper« einzubringen. Das Video wird so um eine neue Ebene erweitert und macht die Reise durch den Orbit als Flug durch den gekrümmten, stets wandelbaren Raum vorstellbar. Andrea Geißlers Soundcollage aus Texten und Musik (Komposition Ulrike Haage) ist im Videoraum als eigenständige akustische Einspielungen zu hören. Das Hörspiel ist in der Mediathek des SWR abrufbar.

Für das Hörspiel wurde ein Kovalevskaya-Kreisel in Bewegung konstruiert und in Bewegung gesetzt. 
Kreisel und Foto: Philipp Fiedler

Hyperbolische Körper

Die beiden Mathematikerinnen Maryam Mirzakhani und Sofia Kowalewskaja beschäftigten sich mit der Berechnung und Darstellung unregelmäßiger Körper. Bei Sofia Kowalewskaja war es ein Kreisel, dessen Rotation einer Choreographie von regelmäßigen und unregelmäßigen Bewegungen folgt. Der Kreisel hat eine wechselnde Gestalt, je nachdem in welchem Moment der Drehung er sich befindet.

Maryam Mirzakhani fand Wege, hyperbolische Körper zu berechnen, unregelmäßige Körper, die Löcher haben können und im hyperbolischen Raum verortet sind, einem Raum mit konstanter negativer Krümmung.

In einer mathematischen Utopie versuchen die beiden Mathematikerinnen einen Weg zu finden, die Gestalt unserer menschlichen Körper zu verändern: Was wäre, wenn wir hyperbolische Körper werden könnten? (Andrea Geißler)

CV Andrea Geißler

Andrea Geißler, geboren 1986, ist Autorin und Radio-Redakteurin beim Hessischen Rundfunk. Sie schreibt Prosa, Lyrik und Hörspiele. 2010 war sie Preisträgerin beim Literaturpreis Nord-Ost. Ihr Hörspiel-Debüt »Hyperbolische Körper« wurde mit dem Publikumspreis der ARD Hörspieltage 2020 ausgezeichnet.

Sponsoren

Teilnehmender Künstler

Peter Bogers (NL), Guillaume Bruère (F), Benedikt Hipp (D), Josephine Garbe (D)

 

Kurator*innen

Friederike Fast, Elisabeth Lumme, Hermann Nöring

EnglishDeutsch