moving but minimal
Music and dance performance of a special kind

6 October 2019

The art space hase29 becomes a stage for music and dance. On Saturday, October 26th, between 11 a.m. and 17 p.m., two professional piano and one amateur musicians will play under the direction of Daria Bergen.

The six-hour permanent performance “Moving but Minimal” is based on the minimalist composition Canto Ostinato by Simeon Ten Holt, which offers the musicians plenty of scope for variations. Daria Bergen, who studied at the Institute for Music Osnabrück, directs the modern contemporary work. Alina Josephine Blas, Tena Baric and Samuel Gestrich as well as amateur musicians play with her on changing instruments. You responded to an appeal and, together with Daria Bergen, rehearsed the smooth transitions.

More
For the piece, Erneste Junge and the Stakkato dance theater are developing a minimalist dance network that makes the melodically repetitive musical structures of “Canto Ostinato” tangible both visually and spatially. In the 6-hour music and dance performance, the audience is also invited to participate in the choreography in order to immerse themselves experimentally from the moment in this type of contemporary music and to implement it in a dance with simple, flowing movement patterns. The Stakkato dance theater is well known in Osnabrück and beyond with its multimedia performances and stage pieces of contemporary dance, live music and video clips. The choreographer and dancer Erneste Junge has been working on an interdisciplinary basis with visual artists and musicians since the late 80s.
Photo: Angela von Brill

Participating artists

Daria Bergen
Pillwoo Chun
Felix Jansen
Juhee Lee
Boy David Mackenroth
Gleb Chepki
Eva Preckwinkel
Marion Alfing

Sponsors

 

The video contains excerpts from the performance “Canto Ostinato” in the art space hase29 on November 5, 2016. The composition by Simeon Ten Holt (Bergen / NL 1923 - 2012) was played by six musicians over a period of six hours .

Daria Bergen | Gleb Tchepki | Felix Jansen | Boy David Mackenrot | Juchee Lee | Pilwoo Chun

In parallel, the artists created Eva Preckwinkel and Marion Alfing a spun thread. The audience was invited to participate.

Camera: Thorsten Alich, werk.statt

Cut: hase29

IMAGE GALLERY

Photos: Lev Zilber

moving but minimal
Musik- und Tanzperformance der besonderen Art

6. Oktober 2019

Der Kunstraum hase29 wird zur Bühne für Musik und Tanz. Am Samstag, 26. Oktober, spielen zwischen 11 und 17 Uhr, jeweils zwei professionelle Klavier- und jeweils ein Laienmusiker unter der Leitung von Daria Bergen.

Die sechsstündige Dauerperformance „Moving but Minimal“ basiert auf der minimalistischen Komposition Canto Ostinato von Simeon Ten Holt, die den Musikern viel Spielraum für Variationen bietet. Daria Bergen, die am Institut für Musik Osnabrück studierte, leitet das moderne zeitgenössische Werk. Mit ihr zusammen spielen Alina Josephine Blas, Tena Baric und Samuel Gestrich sowie Laienmusiker an wechselnden Instrumenten. Sie waren einem Aufruf gefolgt und haben zusammen mit Daria Bergen die fließenden Übergänge geprobt.

mehr
Zum Stück entwickelt Erneste Junge mit dem Tanztheater Stakkato ein minimalistisch tänzerisches Geflecht, das die melodisch repetitiven musikalischen Strukturen von „Canto Ostinato“ visuell und räumlich erlebbar macht. In der 6stündigen Musik- und Tanz Performance ist auch das Publikum zum Mitwirken in der Choreografie eingeladen, um experimentell aus dem Moment heraus in diese Art zeitgenössischer Musik einzutauchen und diese tänzerisch mit einfachen, fließenden Bewegungsmustern umzusetzen. Das Tanztheater Stakkato ist in Osnabrück und darüber hinaus bekannt mit multimedialen Performances und Bühnenstücken von zeitgenössischem Tanz, Livemusik, Videoclips. Seit Ende der 80iger Jahre arbeitet die Choreographin und Tänzerin Erneste Junge interdisziplinär zusammen mit Bildenden Künstlerinnen und Musikern.
Foto: Angela von Brill

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Daria Bergen
Pillwoo Chun
Felix Janssen
Juhee Lee
Boy David Mackenroth
Gleb Tchepki
Eva Preckwinkel
Marion Alfing

Sponsoren

 

Ihr Titel

Das Video enthält Ausschnitte aus der Performance „Canto Ostinato“ im Kunstraum hase29 am 5. November 2016. Die Komposition von Simeon Ten Holt (Bergen/NL 1923 – 2012) wurde in wechselnder Besetzung von sechs Musiker*innen über die Dauer von sechs Stunden gespielt.

Daria Bergen | Gleb Tchepki | Felix Janssen | Boy David Mackenrot | Juchee Lee | Pilwoo Chun

Parallel schufen die Künstlerinnen Eva Preckwinkel und Marion Alfing ein Fadengespinnst. Das Publikum war zur Mitwirkung eingeladen.

Kamera: Thorsten Alich, werk.statt

Schnitt: hase29

Bildergalerie

Fotos: Lev Zilber