I AM MILLI

6.5. until October 16.7.2022, XNUMX

Free entry! (Registration is not required)

 

Photos: Frank Gillich

curated by Natasha A Kelly 

With works by Sonia E. Barrett, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro, Zari Harat, Nadu Hormann, Mwangi Hutter, Belinda Kazeem-Kaminski, Monilola Olayemi Ilupeju, Natasha A. Kelly, Magda Korsinsky and Patricia Vester

The group exhibition I AM MILLI with films, performances, pictures, installations, photographs and objects by eleven artists follows the film documentation "Milli's Awakening" (2018) by Natasha A. Kelly, in which Black artists of different generations report on their challenges in and with German art institutions. In the follow-up project, the works of the artists in the film are set in dialogue with the works of other black artists, all of whom have their main focus in German-speaking countries. Not only the collective experiences of these women, but also the social structures that mark their political position and the associated black feminist space of action are made visible and tangible.

The catalog “I AM MILLI. Iconographies of Black Feminism” will be published by Orlanda Verlag Berlin on the occasion of the exhibition.
With texts by: Mahret Ifeoma Kupka, Achan Malonda, Dr. Michaela Dudley and Ciani-Sophia Hoeder

ISBN: 978-3-949545-27-6, Price: €16

"MILLI'S AWAKE"

At the center is Kelly's award-winning documentary film "Milli's Awakening", commissioned by the Berlin Biennale in 2018. In eight consecutive short films, Black women who live in Germany report on their challenges in and with German art institutions, on visual representation and on political and social exclusion. Her biographical stories show the extent to which engaging with art (in all its manifestations) can serve as a “remedy” to alleviate lived emotional isolation, social oppression, racism and sexism. The title of the film goes back to the painting "Sleeping Milli" by the expressionist Ernst Ludwig Kirchner from 1911. It shows the naked body of a black woman lying on a sofa. Her eyes are closed, but only the title suggests that she is asleep. Her body is outlined with a strong line, the colors are applied unmixed. On the right, Kirchner painted a figure in a bright pink that contrasts with the dark skin tone of "Millis" and resembles an African sculpture that appears to be caught in a dancing motion.

While Kirchner's "Sleeping Milli" (1911) is the focal point of the documentary, Kelly opens with Kirchner's "Narrative Milli" (1910)[I] what the postcolonial theorist Homi K. Bhabha has termed a "third space." It is not just a physical space, but a place of transition where racist and sexist power relations and norms can be undermined by aesthetic practices. On view will be works by Black women artists who have managed to establish their own self-determined identity as Black women within the community through their art white to educate the German majority society. The socio-political process that Black women go through in the course of their history from object to subject is addressed. In this sense it is possible I AM MILLI as Black Feminist "discourse terrain’, a concept proposed by the black American cultural critic bell hooks that can be used to identify and name persistent socio-political inequalities.[

Who visites war Milli?
A Intervention Natasha A. Kelly

April 26, 2022 to April 30, 2023 in the Bremen Art Gallery

Photo: Installation view "Sleeping Milly" by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner in the collection exhibition "Remix" in the Kunsthalle Bremen, photo; Marcus Meyer Photography

read more

I AM MILLI is another artistic answer by the author, activist and communication scientist Natasha A. Kelly to the question posed in the Kunsthalle Bremen "Who was Milli?", the black model in Ernst Ludwig Kirchner's painting "Sleeping Milli" (1911). In the dialogue between her own work and the work in her film "Milli's Awakening" (2018) portrayed artists, as well as the works of other black artists who have their main focus of life in the German-speaking area, not only the collective experiences of these women*, but also the social structures that mark their political position and the associated black feminist space of action, visible.

Natasha A Kelly Photo: Samia Rachel

An Artistic Research Series by Natasha A. Kelly

I AM MILLI forms the fifth part of the multimedia art project with which the scientist, author and filmmaker Natasha A. Kelly shows structural discrimination in German society. The film documentation has already been released "Milli's Awakening" (2018), the related publication "Milli's awakening. Black Women, Art and Resistance" (2018), as well as film mythology Milli's Rising (2019). For the exhibition, Natasha A. Kelly conceived the performative sub-project together with the artist Monilola Olayemi Ilupeju "Milli's Ghost", which will be on display during the group exhibition. At the same time as the show in Osnabrück, an intervention by Natasha A. Kelly can be seen in the permanent exhibition at the Kunsthalle Bremen. Under the title "Who was Milli?", the Black Model of the Brücke artists, the artist and curator comments on the painting "Sleeping Milli" (1911) by the expressionist Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, which is dedicated to the overall project.

Events

exhibition tour
for educators, teachers and multipliers by and with Natasha A. Kelly

Saturday, 7.5.2022 11.30 a.m. – 13.30 p.m

Free entry! We ask for Registration

 

lecture

Looking back and forward: black feminism in Germany

Lecture by Natasha A Kelly
Saturday, May 07, 2022, 18 am - 20 pm

The lecture and the discussion will be broadcast live as a video conference via ZOOM. Please use this link

Location: art space hase29

Free entry! We ask for Registration

 

A parent-child afternoon in the studio of the art space hase29

Art and cooking - fun in the studio and kitchen

Unfortunately, the date has to be postponed to September. We will announce the new date on our homepage under our mediation offers.

Location: Atelier of the art space hase29

Children from the age of 5 create small works of art with the artists Nina Lükenga and Jessica Fleming from food packaging and leftovers of all kinds. While they create their pictures, objects and collages, their parents try out new dishes with guidance.

Costs per parent/child couple €8/

We ask for Registration

read more

Helen Nintemann is known for her pan-African cuisine. Under her guidance, adults learn interesting facts about typical African foods and how to prepare them. In the 90-minute cooking course, delicious dishes are prepared, which are then eaten together with the children for dinner.

 

Natasha A Kelly Photo: Samia Rachel

 #art freedom: Let's talk about ...
... with scientist, author and curator Natasha A. Kelly and the artists behind "Milli's Awakening"

Thursday, June 30, 2022 19 am - 21 pm
Location: Art space hase29 and live stream (Link will be announced on the homepage)

Free entry!
In cooperation with the Osnabrück Many

After a brief introduction to the making of the film "Milli's Awakening" (2018) by Natasha A. Kelly and Julia Scheck (Independent FilmFest Osnabrück / Die Osnabrück Many), the filmmaker talks to her protagonists Maseho, Nadu Hormann, Zari Harat and Patricia Vester, about their works shown in the exhibition, as well as about their experiences in the art and culture business before and after Corona.

read more

Nadu, Zari and Patricia are three of eight protagonists who, as Black FLINTA*, have in common that they live in Germany and work in an art context. Her biographical narratives in the documentary film “Millis Awakening” (2018), which is part of the exhibition, show how engaging with art (in all its manifestations) can serve as a “remedy” to alleviate lived emotional isolation and social oppression. In conversation with the filmmaker Natasha A. Kelly, the artists talk about their works shown in the exhibition and about their experiences in the art and culture business before and after Corona.

Malonda and after show party with DJ Grace Kelly

Concert, Saturday, July 01.07.2022st, XNUMX Admission from 18.30 p.m.

Free entry! We ask for a donation to help refugees.

Singer and songwriter MALONDA, daughter of a Congolese and a Sudanese, is not only in love with the music, but also conjures up catchy tunes on stage with the grace of Hildegard Knef or Grace Jones as an electric diva. For the exhibition catalogue, the artist contributed a text that deals with the decolonization of black female sexuality along the lines of her own biography. With her appearance, the text will now be expanded to include an audiovisual dimension: the video for her own song “Sexlied” will premiere in a concert staged in the exhibition. MALONDA will be accompanied by DJ Grace Kelly, who will then invite you to the after-show party.

Black. German. Feminine
Public Curatorial Tour with Natasha A. Kelly

Saturday, July 02, 2022, 11.30:13.30 p.m. - XNUMX:XNUMX a.m.

Free entry! We ask for Registration

Photos: Angela von Brill

Photos: Angela von Brill

Milli's awakening

by Natasha A Kelly

 

Nadu, born in 1955, mask maker, Naomi, born in 1965, actress, or Maciré, born in 1995, student are three of eight protagonists who, as Black women*, have the center of their lives in Germany and work in an art context. Her biographical stories show to what extent dealing with art (in all its forms) can serve as a "remedy" to alleviate lived emotional isolation and social oppression. Because black women* have always been through the white male gaze eroticized and exoticized. In the works of many Expressionists, which are considered »classic«, they were merely depicted as »objects of desire«. 

Sponsors

The catalog is sponsored by:

EnglishDeutsch

I AM MILLI

6.5. bis  16.7.2022

Eintritt frei! (Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich)

Fotos: Frank Gillich

kuratiert von Natasha A. Kelly 

Mit Werken von Sonia E. Barrett, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro, Zari Harat, Nadu Hormann, Mwangi Hutter, Belinda Kazeem-Kaminski, Monilola Olayemi Ilupeju, Natasha A. Kelly, Magda Korsinsky und Patricia Vester

Die Gruppenausstellung I AM MILLI mit Filmen, Performances, Bildern, Installationen, Fotografien und Objekten von elf Künstlerinnen schließt an die filmische Dokumentation „Millis Erwachen“ (2018) von Natasha A. Kelly an, in dem Schwarze Künstlerinnen unterschiedlicher Generationen über ihre Herausforderungen in und mit deutschen Kunstinstitutionen berichten. Im Folgeprojekt werden nun die Arbeiten der Künstlerinnen im Film mit den Werken weiterer Schwarzer Künstlerinnen, die alle ihren Lebensmittelpunkt im deutschsprachigen Raum haben, in Dialog gesetzt. Nicht nur die kollektiven Erfahrungen dieser Frauen, sondern auch die gesellschaftlichen Strukturen, die ihre politische Position und damit einhergehend einen Schwarzen feministischen Handlungsraum markieren, werden sichtbar und erfahrbar gemacht.

Der Katalog „I AM MILLI. Ikonografien des Schwarzen Feminismus“ erscheint anlässlich der Ausstellung im Orlanda Verlag Berlin.
Mit Texten von: Mahret Ifeoma Kupka, Achan Malonda, Dr. Michaela Dudley und Ciani-Sophia Hoeder

ISBN: 978-3-949545-27-6, Preis: 16 €

"MILLIS ERWACHEN"

Im Zentrum steht Kellys preisgekrönter Dokumentarfilm „Millis Erwachen“, der 2018 von der Berlin Biennale in Auftrag geben wurde. In acht aufeinanderfolgenden Kurzfilmen berichten Schwarze Frauen, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Deutschland haben, von ihren Herausforderungen in und mit deutschen Kunstinstitutionen, von visueller Repräsentation und von politischer und sozialer Ausgrenzung. Ihre biografischen Erzählungen zeigen, inwieweit die Beschäftigung mit Kunst (in all ihren Erscheinungsformen) als „Heilmittel“ dienen kann, um gelebte emotionale Isolation, gesellschaftliche Unterdrückung, Rassismus und Sexismus zu lindern. Der Titel des Films geht auf das Gemälde „Schlafende Milli“ des Expressionisten Ernst Ludwig Kirchner aus dem Jahr 1911 zurück. Es zeigt den nackten Körper einer Schwarzen Frau, die auf einem Sofa liegt. Ihre Augen sind geschlossen, dennoch suggeriert lediglich der Titel, dass sie schläft. Ihr Körper ist mit einer kräftigen Linie konturiert, die Farben sind unvermischt aufgetragen. Rechts malte Kirchner eine Figur in einem leuchtenden Pink, das mit der dunklen Hautfarbe „Millis“ kontrastiert und einer afrikanischen Skulptur ähnelt, die in einer tanzenden Bewegung festgehalten zu sein scheint.

Während Kirchners „Schlafende Milli“ (1911) Dreh- und Angelpunkt der Dokumentation bildet, eröffnet Kelly mit Kirchners „Erzählende Milli“ (1910)[i] das, was der postkoloniale Theoretiker Homi K. Bhabha als einen „dritten Raum“ bezeichnet hat. Es handelt sich dabei nicht nur um einen physischen Raum, sondern um einen Ort des Übergangs, in dem rassistische und sexistische Machtbeziehungen und Normen durch ästhetische Praktiken unterminiert werden können. Zu sehen sein werden Werke von Schwarzen Künstlerinnen, die es geschafft haben, in und durch ihre Kunst ihre eigene selbstbestimmte Identität als Schwarze Frauen innerhalb der weißen deutschen Mehrheitsgesellschaft auszubilden. Thematisiert wird der gesellschaftspolitische Prozess, den Schwarze Frauen im Laufe ihrer Geschichte vom Objekt zum Subjekt durchlaufen. In diesem Sinne lässt sich I AM MILLI als Schwarzen feministischen „discourse terrain“ verstehen, ein von der Schwarzen US-amerikanischen Kulturkritikerin bell hooks vorgeschlagenes Konzept, das sich zur Erkennung und Benennung fortbestehender sozialpolitischer Ungleichheiten nutzen lässt.[ii]

Wer war Milli?
Eine Intervention von Natasha A. Kelly

26. April 2022 bis 30. April 2023 in der Kunsthalle Bremen

Foto: Installationsansicht „Schlafende Milly“ von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner in der Sammlungsausstellung „Remix“ in der Kunsthalle Bremen, Foto; Marcus Meyer Photography

weiterlesen

I AM MILLI ist eine weitere künstlerische Antwort der Autorin, Aktivistin und Kommunikationswissenschaftlerin Natasha A. Kelly auf die in der Kunsthalle Bremen gestellte Frage „Wer war Milli?“, das Schwarze Modell in Ernst Ludwig Kirchners Gemälde „Schlafende Milli“ (1911). Im Dialog zwischen ihren eigenen und den Arbeiten der in ihrem Film „Millis Erwachen“ (2018) portraitierten Künstlerinnen, sowie den Werken weiterer Schwarzer Künstlerinnen, die ihren Lebensmittelpunkt im deutschsprachigen Raum haben, werden nicht nur die kollektiven Erfahrungen dieser Frauen*, sondern auch die gesellschaftlichen Strukturen, die ihre politische Position und damit einhergehend einen Schwarzen feministischen Handlungsraum markieren, sichtbar.

Natasha A. Kelly  Foto: Samia Rachel

Eine künstlerische Forschungsreihe von Natasha A. Kelly

I AM MILLI bildet den fünften Teil des multimedialen Kunstprojekts mit dem die Wissenschaftlerin, Autorin und Filmemacherin Natasha A. Kelly strukturelle Diskriminierungen in der deutschen Gesellschaft aufzeigt. Bereits erschienen sind die filmische Dokumentation „Millis Erwachen“ (2018), die dazugehörige Publikation „Millis Erwachen. Schwarze Frauen, Kunst und Widerstand“ (2018), sowie die Filmmythologie „Milli‘s Rising“ (2019). Für die Ausstellung konzipiert Natasha A. Kelly gemeinsam mit der Künstlerin Monilola Olayemi Ilupeju das performative Teilprojekt „Milli’s Ghost“, was während der Gruppenausstellung zu sehen sein wird. Zeitgleich zur Schau in Osnabrück ist eine Intervention von Natasha A. Kelly in die Dauerausstellung der Kunsthalle Bremen zu sehen. Unter dem Titel “Wer war Milli?“, das Schwarze Modell der Brücke Künstler kommentiert die Künstlerin und Kuratorin das Gemälde „Sleeping Milli“ (1911) des Expressionisten Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, das dem Gesamtprojekt gewidmet ist.

Veranstaltungen

Ausstellungsführung
für Pädagog*innen, Lehrer*innen und Multiplikator*innen von und mit Natasha A. Kelly

Samstag, 7.5.2022 11.30 – 13.30 Uhr

Eintritt frei! Wir bitten um Anmeldung

 

Vortrag

Der Blick zurück nach vorne: Schwarzer Feminismus in Deutschland

Vortrag von Natasha A. Kelly
Samstag, 07. Mai 2022, 18 – 20 Uhr

Der Vortrag und das Gespräch werden live  als Videokonferenz per ZOOM übertragen. Bitte nutzen Sie diesen Link

Ort:  Kunstraum hase29

Eintritt frei! Wir bitten um Anmeldung

 

Ein Elter-Kind-Nachmittag im Atelier des Kunstraums hase29

Kunst und Kochen- Spaß in Atelier und Küche

Freitag, 13.5.2022, 17 – 20 Uhr

Der Termin muss leider in den Juni verschoben werden. Den neuen Termin finden Sie demnächst auf dieser Seite.

Ort: Atelier des Kunstraums hase29

Kinder ab 5 Jahren gestalten mit den Künstlerinnen Nina Lükenga und Jessica Fleming aus Lebensmittelverpackungen und Resten aller Art kleine Kunstwerke. Während sie ihre Bilder, Objeke und Collagen gestalten, probieren ihre Eltern unter Anleitung neue Gerichte aus.

Kosten je Eltern /Kind Paar 8,- €/

Wir bitten um Anmeldung

weiterlesen

Helen Nintemann ist bekannt für Ihre panafrikanische Küche. Unter ihrer Anleitung lernen Erwachsene Interessantes über typisch afrikanische Lebensmittel und ihre Zubereitung. In dem 90 minütigen Kochkurs werden leckere Speisen zubereitet, die im Anschluss gemeinsam mit den Kindern zum Abendessen verspeist werden.

 

Natasha A. Kelly  Foto: Samia Rachel

 #kunstfreiheit: Let’s talk about …
mit Wissenschaftlerin, Autorin und Kuratorin Natasha A. Kelly und den Künstlerinnen hinter „Millis Erwachen“

Donnerstag, 30. Juni 2022, 19 – 21 Uhr
Ort: Kunstraum hase29 und Live-Stream (Link wird auf der Homepage bekannt gegeben)

Eintritt frei!
In Kooperation mit den Osnabrücker Vielen

Nach einer kurzen Einführung zur Entstehung des Films „Millis Erwachen“ (2018) durch Natasha A. Kelly und Julia Scheck (Unabhängiges FilmFest Osnabrück / Die Osnabrücker Vielen) spricht die Filmemacherin mit ihren Protagonistinnen Maseho, Nadu Hormann, Zari Harat und Patricia Vester, von ihren in der Ausstellung gezeigten Werken, sowie von ihren Erfahrungen im Kunst- und Kulturbetrieb vor und nach Corona.

weiterlesen

Nadu, Zari und Patricia sind drei von acht Protagonistinnen, die die Gemeinsamkeit haben als Schwarze FLINTA* ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Deutschland zu haben und im Kunstkontext tätig zu sein. Ihre biographischen Erzählungen in dem Dokumentarfilm „Millis Erwachen“ (2018), der Teil der Ausstellung ist, zeigen, inwieweit die Beschäftigung mit Kunst (in all ihren Ausprägungsformen) als „Heilmittel“ dienen kann, gelebte emotionale Isolation und gesellschaftliche Unterdrückung zu lindern. Im Gespräch mit der Filmemacherin Natasha A. Kelly erzählen die Künstlerinnen nun von ihren in der Ausstellung gezeigten Werken, sowie von ihren Erfahrungen im Kunst- und Kulturbetrieb vor und nach Corona.

Malonda und After-Show Party mit DJ Grace Kelly

Konzert, Samstag, 01.07.2022 Einlass ab 18.30 Uhr

Eintritt frei! Wir bitten um eine Spende zugunsten Geflüchter.

Sängerin und Songwriterin MALONDA, Tochter einer Kongolesin und eines Sudanesen, ist nicht nur verliebt in die Musik, sondern zaubert mit der Anmut einer Hildegard Knef oder Grace Jones als Elektrik Diva Ohrwürmer auf die Bühne. Für den Katalog zur Ausstellung steuerte die Künstlerin einen Text bei, der sich entlang der eigenen Biografie mit der Dekolonialisierung Schwarzer weiblicher Sexualität auseinandersetzt. Mit ihrem Auftritt wird der Text nun um eine audiovisuelle Dimension erweitert: In einem in der Ausstellung inszenierten Konzert wird das Video zum eigenen Song „Sexlied“ Premiere feiern. Begleitet wird MALONDA von DJ Grace Kelly, die im Anschluss zur After-Show-Party einlädt.

Schwarz. Deutsch. Weiblich
Öffentliche Kuratorinnen Führung mit Natasha A. Kelly

Samstag, 02. Juli 2022, 11.30 – 13.30 Uhr

Eintritt frei! Wir bitten um Anmeldung

Millis Erwachen

von Natasha A. Kelly

 

Nadu, Jahrgang 1955, Maskenherstellerin, Naomi, Jahrgang 1965, Schauspielerin, oder Maciré, Jahrgang 1995, Studentin sind drei von acht Protagonistinnen, die die Gemeinsamkeit haben als Schwarze Frauen* ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Deutschland zu haben und im Kunstkontext tätig zu sein. Ihre biographischen Erzählungen zeigen, inwieweit die Beschäftigung mit Kunst (in all ihren Ausprägungsformen) als »Heilmittel« dienen kann,gelebte emotionale Isolation und gesellschaftliche Unterdrückung zu lindern. Denn Schwarze Frauen* wurden seit jeher durch den weißen männlichen Blick erotisiert und exotisiert. In den als »Klassiker« geltenden Werken vieler Expressionisten wurden sie lediglich als »Objekte der Begierde« abgebildet. 

Sponsoren

Der Katalog wird gefördert durch:

EnglishDeutsch