Gender piracy

Exhibition with works by
Cassils, Mary Maggic, Luki von der Gracht, JJ Maurer, Anna Olkina, Joran Yonis

November 13, 2021 to January 15, 2022

curated by Joran Yonis

At the invitation of the art space hase29, the performance artist and curator Joran Yonis will curate the art exhibition “gender piracy”. Works by six internationally known and young up-and-coming artists will be on display want to give voice to queer bodies. The selection of works presents artistic positions in which the exhibiting artists question and break through prevailing notions of gender.

read more

“Coming to Voice” - that is the aim of the exhibition. It is queer bodies that become visible - trans * bodies, inter * bodies, non-binary bodies. Their stories are told and their voices become audible. It's about gender, the search for identity and the courage to stand by yourself.

“The conviction that there are only two genders prescribed by birth sabotage the exhibiting artists, they leverage them and lead them to absurdity. You design new body images and re-occupy gender concepts. They deconstruct gender bodies and create gender bodies. They modify their bodies and "hack" their bodies. They confuse, dissolve and become visible. They show themselves and have their say. They are quiet and they are loud. They enter into a conversation and empower one another. They design new "normalities" and gender expressions. They are funny, they are careful, they are revolutionary, and they are honest. And above all, they are brave!
They are who they are and they are visible. “Joran Yonis

 

Illustration: Luki von der Gracht. Untitled (Pink Face), 2021

Sponsors 

EnglishDeutsch

Gender Piracy

Ausstellung mit Werken von
Cassils, Mary Maggic, Luki von der Gracht, thunder.khat, Anna Olkina, Joran Yonis

11. November 2021 bis 15. Januar 2022

kuratiert von Joran Yonis

Auf Einladung des Kunstraums hase29 wird der*die Performance-Künstler*in und Kurator*in Joran Yonis die Kunstausstellung „gender piracy“ kuratieren. Es werden Werke von sechs international bekannten und jungen aufstrebenden Kunstschaffende zu sehen sein, die queeren Körpern eine Stimme geben möchten. Die Werkauswahl stellt künstlerische Positionen vor, in denen die ausstellenden Künstler*innen vorherrschende Vorstellungen von Geschlecht hinterfragen und durchbrechen.

weiterlesen

„Coming to Voice“ – das ist das Anliegen der Ausstellung. Es sind queere Körper, die da sichtbar werden – trans* Körper, inter* Körper, nichtbinäre Körper. Ihre Geschichten werden erzählt und ihre Stimmen werden hörbar. Es geht um Gender, Identitätssuche und den Mut zu sich selbst zu stehen.

„Die Überzeugung, es gäbe nur zwei durch die Geburt vorgeschriebene Geschlechter, sabotieren die ausstellenden Künstler*innen, sie hebeln sie aus und führen sie ad absurdum. Sie entwerfen neue Körperbilder und besetzen Geschlechtervorstellungen neu. Sie dekonstruieren geschlechtliche Körper und erschaffen geschlechtliche Körper. Sie modifizieren ihre Körper und „hacken“ ihre Körper. Sie verwirren, lösen auf und werden sichtbar. Sie zeigen sich und kommen zu Wort. Sie sind leise und sie sind laut. Sie treten in ein Gespräch und empowern sich gegenseitig. Sie entwerfen neue „Normalitäten“ und geschlechtliche Ausdrucksformen. Sie sind lustig, sie sind vorsichtig, sie sind revolutionär und sie sind ehrlich. Und vor allem sind sie mutig!
Sie sind, wer sie sind und sie sind sichtbar. “ Joran Yonis

 

Abbildung: Luki von der Gracht. Untitled (Pink Face), 2021

Sponsoren