EH, WHAT'S UP DOC?

Exhibition May 28 to July 9, 2021

In the week from May 17 to May 5, 21.5.2021 the art space hase29 was the location for a performance by the artist Daniel Hopp. Participants included trainees from the Osnabrück Chamber of Crafts. The project week was followed by the exhibition “Eh, what's up, Doc?”, Which focused on the artist's film production of the same name, a retrospective and the objects of those involved.

Other guests of the performance

Francis Kussatz, Alexander Meinke, Alexander Winterstein, Pastor Dr. Frank Uhlhorn, Dangerous Duke

The exhibition continues!
"Eh, what's up, Doc?" By Daniel Hopp can still be seen in the live stream on Twitch even after the exhibition has ended and comments can be made!
https://www.twitch.tv/pink_hase29

The art historian Charlotte Klink and the art historian Wolfgang Ullrich look back in this catalog on the exhibition “Eh, What's up, Doc?” by Daniel Hopp.

Daniel Hopp starts working on his films by staging social situations. Thematically preconceived, but without a completed script, he gathers friends, relatives, actors and the audience. He hands the further process over to the dynamics of this group, the interactions of their protagonists, their conversations, fears, hopes and desires.

Read more

The protagonists: inside these constellations are bodies, subjects, relationships and social dynamics in equal measure. Hopp's stagings can be described as a kind of life action role play, but his story universes do not offer a temporary escape from one's own position. On the contrary, what emerges here is an equally productive and tragic paradigm: / Be yourself / means to make yourself an object of another, / Not to be yourself / is not an option / not a choice.

The title of the exhibition Eh, what's up doc? refers to the casual catchphrase of the cartoon hero Bugs Bunny, with which he greets his opponents - can it be that the rabbit has developed a pathological obsession for his counterpart? Together with a group of Osnabrück vocational school students, a pastor, the hase29 art space team, a master craftsman, a social worker and other guests, Hopp used the art space as a stage for a new production. The setting of this staging is the process of renovation, the construction site or workshop, the practice, the baptism - not least the eternal hope for renewal.

- by Lukas Ludwig

Vita Daniel Hopp

From 2013 Daniel Hopp studied fine arts with Jeanne Faust, Anselm Reyle and Felix Ensslin at the HFBK Hamburg and the ABK Stuttgart. He is a scholarship holder of the German National Academic Foundation and won the Hiscox Art Prize in 2017. Since 2019 he has been participating in the “Moving Image” graduate program at the Royal College of Art. In recent years Daniel Hopp has exhibited in the Solitude project space, Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, the Junge Akademie, the Akademie der Künste in Berlin, the Kunstverein Schwerin, the Kunstverein Jesteburg, the Videonale Parcours in Bonn and the Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin. Since 2020 his film work has been shown at international festivals such as the Oberhausen Short Film Festival, Hamburg Short Film Festival, Flatpack Festival Birmingham and Show me Shorts in New Zealand.

With friendly support
EnglishDeutsch

EH, WHAT’S UP DOC?

Ausstellung  28. Mai bis 9. Juli 2021

In der Woche vom 17. 5. bis 21.5.2021 war der Kunstraum hase29 Dreh-Ort einer Performance des Künstlers Daniel Hopp. Beteiligt waren u.a. Auszubildende der Handwerkskammer Osnabrück.  An die Projektwoche  schloss sich die Ausstellung „Eh, what’s up, Doc?“ an, in deren Zentrum die gleichnamige Filmproduktion des Künstlers, eine Werkschau sowie die Objekte der Beteiligten standen.

Weitere Gäste der Performance

Francis Kussatz, Alexander Meinke, Alexander Winterstein, Pastor Dr. Frank Uhlhorn, Dangerous Duke

Die Ausstellung geht weiter!
„Eh, what’s up, Doc?“ von Daniel Hopp ist auch nach dem Ende der Ausstellung weiterhin im Livestream auf Twitch zu sehen und kann kommentiert werden!
https://www.twitch.tv/pink_hase29

Daniel Hopp beginnt die Arbeit an seinen Filmen, indem er soziale Situationen inszeniert. Thematisch vorgefasst, aber ohne abgeschlossenes Skript versammelt er Freunde, Verwandte, Schauspieler*innen und Publikum. Den weiteren Prozess übergibt er der Dynamik dieser Gruppe, den Interaktionen ihrer Protagonist*innen, ihren Gesprächen, Ängsten, Hoffnungen und Begehren.

Weiterlesen

Die Protagonist:innen dieser Konstellationen sind dabei gleichermaßen Körper, Subjekte, Beziehungen und soziale Dynamiken. Hopps Inszenierungen lassen sich als eine Art Life Action Role Play beschreiben, allerdings bieten seine Story-Universen kein temporäres Entkommen aus der eigenen Position. Ganz im Gegenteil, was hier zum Vorschein kommt, ist ein gleicher- maßen produktives wie tragisches Paradigma: /Sei Du selbst/ heißt, sich zum Objekt eines Anderen zu machen, /Nicht man selbst sein/ ist keine Option / keine Wahl.

Der Titel der Ausstellung Eh, What’s up Doc? nimmt Bezug auf den saloppen Catchphrase des Cartoon- Helden Bugs Bunny, mit dem dieser seine Gegenspieler begrüßt – kann es sein, dass der Hase eine krankhafte Obsession für sein Gegenüber entwickelt hat? Gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe von Osnabrücker Berufsschüler:innen, einem Pastor, dem Team des Kunstraums hase29, einem Handwerksmeister, einer Sozialpädagogin und weiteren Gästen hat Hopp den Kunstraum als Bühne einer neuen Inszenierung genutzt. Das Setting dieser Inszenierung ist der Prozess des Umbaus, die Baustelle oder Werkstatt, die Praxis, die Taufe – nicht zuletzt die ewige Hoffnung auf Erneuerung.

– von Lukas Ludwig

Vita Daniel Hopp

Daniel Hopp studierte ab 2013 freie Kunst bei Jeanne Faust, Anselm Reyle und Felix Ensslin an der HFBK Hamburg und der ABK Stuttgart. Er ist Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes und gewann 2017 den Hiscox Kunstpreis. Seit 2019 nimmt er am Graduiertenprogramm »Moving Image« am Royal College of Art teil. In den letzten Jahren hat Daniel Hopp u.a. im Projektraum Solitude, Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, in der Jungen Akademie, Akademie der Künste in Berlin, im Kunstverein Schwerin, im Kunstverein Jesteburg, im Videonale Parcours in Bonn und im Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin ausgestellt. Seit 2020 laufen seine filmischen Arbeiten auf internationalen Festivals, wie dem Kurzfilmfestival Oberhausen, Kurzfilmfestival Hamburg, Flatpack Festival Birmingham und dem Show me Shorts in Neuseeland.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung
EnglishDeutsch