You talkin 'to me?

January 31 - February 22, 2020

exhibition

In Jan Neukirchen's exhibition “You talkin 'to me?”, The focus is on dealing with spoken language in digital space. Its algorithmically operated echo machines pass text passages on to one another and thus let the words circling around the room. The audience can follow the content by moving between the speakers and microphones. 

 

more

During the transmission, misunderstandings of all kinds are generated, while in the spoken text between the artificial intelligences of the machines new content is constantly emerging. Questions about the long-term memory of the cloud and the creative potential of the language assistants that have already become commonplace are made tangible in a playful way. 

The second work "Communication trees" is based on conversations on the Internet platform Reddit.com. Here, algorithms from communication generate sound and image data, which are visualized in a video animation and output as a three-dimensional form using a 3D printer. These make the invisible structure of the text-based exchange visible in digital space and reveal patterns in the interaction of hundreds of participants. 

The title "You talkin 'to me?" Is a quote from the cult film Taxi Driver.

 

Participating artist

Jan Neukirchen

Curator

Michael Kroeger
Elisabeth Lumme

Sponsors

Photos: Angela von Brill

You talkin’ to me?

31. Januar –  22. Februar 2020

Ausstellung

In Jan Neukirchens Ausstellung „You talkin’ to me?“ steht die Auseinandersetzung mit gesprochener Sprache im digitalen Raum im Vordergrund. Seine algorithmisch betriebenen Echomaschinen geben Textpassagen untereinander weiter und lassen so die Worte im Raum kreisen. Das Publikum kann dem Inhalt folgen, indem es sich zwischen den Lautsprechern und Mikrofonen bewegt. 

 

mehr

Bei der Übertragung werden Missverständnisse unterschiedlichster Art erzeugt, während im gesprochenen Text zwischen den künstlichen Intelligenzen der Maschinen immer neue Inhalte entstehen. Auf spielerische Weise werden Fragen nach dem Langzeitgedächtnis der Cloud und dem schöpferischen Potential der bereits alltäglich gewordenen Sprachassistenten erfahrbar gemacht. 

Die zweite Arbeit „Kommunikationsbäume“ basiert auf Unterhaltungen auf der Internetplattform Reddit.com. Hier erzeugen Algorithmen aus der Kommunikation Klang- und Bilddaten, die in einer Videoanimation visualisiert und als plastische Form mittels eines 3D-Druckers ausgegeben werden. Diese machen die unsichtbare Struktur des textbasierten Austausches im digitalen Raum sichtbar und offenbaren Muster im Zusammenwirken von hunderten von Teilnehmenden. 

Der Titel „You talkin‘ to me?“ ist ein Zitat aus dem Kultfilm Taxi Driver.

 

Teilnehmender Künstler

Jan Neukirchen

Kurator*In

Michael Kröger
Elisabeth Lumme

Sponsoren

Fotos: Angela von Brill

 

EnglishDeutsch