so urban! Art and city locations

September 21 - September 28, 2018

exhibition
The invited artists visited the Osnabrück Neumarkt in the period from 21.9. Used as an experimental field until September 28.9.2018, XNUMX. This urban space, which at the moment presents itself as a construction site, was explored by the artists using various artistic means. Passers-by and residents were invited to interrupt their usual directions of movement and gaze and realign them.

You can find project documentation on tangency.

Theme
How can rooms, niches, entrances, lines of sight, materials and colors be made visible in a new way? How do things appear that are often overlooked in everyday life in new and interesting ways? Which interventions and interventions can change the perception of a familiar environment? A total of 8 artists invited with their works to take part in unusual actions and generate new attentions in the process. What do we like about urbanity, what do we perceive as disruptive, dangerous, critical?

While the actions and artistic interventions at Neumarkt / disappeared after a short time, the works of the participating artists could still be explored in hase29 - Society for Contemporary Art in Hasestraße 29/30 until November 17, 2018. The exhibition “so urban!” Offered the opportunity to reflect on questions about urbanity from different perspectives.

A cooperation with TOP.OS Verein für Neue Kunst eV

Participating artists

Clemens Behr
Stella Geppert
Jacob & Manila
Katerina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov
Diana Sirianni
Elisabeth Windisch

Curator

Dirk Manzke (idea)
Elisabeth Lumme
Tim Rossberg

Sponsors

Participating artists

in detail

Clemens Behr, “Medium Disaster”, 2018 Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29

Clemens Behr

Medium disaster

An extensive installation that takes up the existing materiality on site and the architecture and tries to copy it. However, this is rendered in a deconstructivist and constructivist way. Urban furniture / architecture should be presented like after a constructivist traffic accident. An everyday humorous catastrophe.

Stella Geppert "momentary link",
Performance, 2018, Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29 

Stella Geppert

Linking the moment, performance

Land surveyors, also known as geodesists, set themselves the task of determining the size and shape of the earth. At Neumarkt Osnabrück, Stella Geppert uses land surveying technology to capture the complexity of the location.
Four to six performers at a time sound out the physical, spatial and communicative aspects of land surveying. What are the limits of communication? How do interpersonal contacts work near and far? How long does it take for looks to find each other? How do social spaces relate to the big picture - the earth's body? In a choreographic measurement performance, the artist examines the emotional gaps between distant human measuring points.

Jakob & Manila, “Wonderful World”, 2018, Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29

Jacob & Manila

Wonderful World

Passers-by in Osnabrück's Neumarkt are invited to an “information stand” by the artist couple Jakob & Manila to put on rose-colored glasses and explore the area. In a subsequent interview, the observations made by the participants, for example while walking in the area, are recorded. What unknown impressions could they collect? How does the visual change affect the perception of the environment? After the field exploration, the participants are asked to describe what they saw. The collected original sounds serve the artists as the basis for a video work.
Katrina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov, “Reassemble”, 2018, Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29

Katrina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov

Reassemble

The artist couple use colored ribbons to weave a geometric pattern into barriers, which indicates the "encrypted" problem of the Neumarkt: two different halves, which are interwoven by jagged lines, become a coded signal image for the Neumarkt. Created on the border between the old and new town, this place in the center has retained its shape as a dividing line to this day. The wickerwork in the barriers stands for a functional change and for new images: the barrier becomes an information carrier. For the project "Tangency 2018" the artist couple will weave on several barriers on Neumarkt for a week. At the end, the wickerwork is carried in a procession from Neumarkt to the art room “hase29”, where they can be viewed in the exhibition “so urban!”.
Diana Sirianni, Neumarkt, 2018, Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29

Diana Sirianni

Neumarkt

Photographs of selected areas of a facade are alienated by the artist through digital manipulation. These image motifs are applied to the corresponding facades in the form of large-format prints and thus create an irritating effect. The apparent duplication of the photographic motif and facade results in optical shifts that strain the eye and tempt you to take a closer look. Diana Sirianni creates a spatial photo collage that looks like a stage on which she moves together with passers-by. Comes in two days Diana Sirianni talking to passers-by and inviting them to become part of their artistic intervention.

Elisabeth Windisch, "oT", 2018, Osnabrück © Photo Kerstin Hehmann | hare29

Elisabeth Windisch

oT 

The Neumarkt is visually characterized by asphalted areas, barriers and permanent temporary guidance systems. In the city center, which appears chaotic due to construction sites, the artist uses safety beacons to build a wall approx. 3 m high and 9 m long over several days. On the one hand, the order and colors of the elements act like an irritating barrier between the pedestrian area and the traffic area, on the other hand, an unusual pattern attracts the attention of passers-by. Passers-by are invited to convert individual elements and create new three-dimensional patterns.

so urban! Kunst und Stadtverortungen

21. September – 28. September 2018

Ausstellung
Die eingeladenen Künstlerinnen und Künstler haben den Osnabrücker Neumarkt im Zeitraum vom 21.9. bis 28.9.2018 als Experimentierfeld genutzt. Dieser Stadtraum, der sich im Moment als Baustelle präsentiert, wurde von den Kunstschaffenden mit unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Mitteln erkundeten. Passanten und AnwohnerInnen wurden dazu eingeladen, ihre gewohnten Bewegungs- und Blickrichtungen einmal zu unterbrechen und neu auszurichten.

Eine Projektdokumentation finden Sie auf tangency.

Thema
Wie können Räume, Nischen, Eingänge, Sichtachsen, Materialität und Farbigkeit auf neue Weise sichtbar gemacht werden? Wie erscheinen Dinge, die im alltäglichen Umgang häufig übersehen werden auf neue und interessante Weise? Welche Eingriffe und Intervention können die Wahrnehmung eines gewohnten Umfelds verändern? Mit ihren Werken luden insgesamt 8 Künstlerinnen und Künstler dazu ein, an ungewöhnlichen Aktionen teilzunehmen und dabei neue Aufmerksamkeiten zu erzeugen. Was gefällt uns an Urbanität, was empfinden wir als störend, gefährdend, kritisch?

Während die Aktionen und künstlerischen Interventionen am Neumarkt/ bereits nach kurzer Zeit wieder verschwanden, konnten die Werke der beteiligten Künstlerinnen und Künstler in hase29 – Gesellschaft für zeitgenössische Kunst in der Hasestraße 29/30 bis zum 17. November 2018 weiterhin erkundet werden. Die Ausstellung „so urban!“ bot die Möglichkeit, Fragen zur Urbanität aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven neu zu reflektieren.

Eine Kooperation mit TOP.OS Verein für Neue Kunst e.V.

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Clemens Behr
Stella Geppert
Jakob&Manila
Katerina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov
Diana Sirianni
Elisabeth Windisch

Kurator*In

Dirk Manzke (Idee)
Elisabeth Lumme
Tim Roßberg

Sponsoren

Teilnehmende Künstler/Innen

im Detail

Clemens Behr, „Mittlere Katastrophe“, 2018 Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29

Clemens Behr

Mittlere Katastrophe

Eine raumgreifende Installation, die die vorhandene Materialität vor Ort sowie die Architektur aufgreift und versucht zu kopieren. Jedoch wird diese auf dekonstruktivistische und konstruktivistische Art wiedergegeben. Städtische Möbel/Architektur sollen dargestellt werden, wie nach einem konstruktivistischen Verkehrsunfall. Eine alltägliche humoristische Katastrophe.

Stella Geppert „Augenblicksverknüpfung“,
Performance, 2018, Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29 

Stella Geppert

Augenblicksverknüpfung, Performance

Landvermesser und Landvermesserinnen, auch Geodäten genannt, stellen sich der Aufgabe, die Erdfigur in ihrer Größe und Form zu bestimmen. Stella Geppert nutzt am Neumarkt Osnabrück die Technik der Landvermessung um den Ort in seiner Vielschichtigkeit zu erfassen.
Jeweils vier bis sechs Performerinnen und Performer loten die körperlich-räumlichen sowie kommunikativen Aspekte der Landvermessung aus. Wo liegen die Grenzen der Kommunikation? Wie wirken zwischenmenschliche Kontaktaufnahmen in der Nähe und in der Ferne? Wie lange dauert es, bis sich Blicke einander finden? Wie verhalten sich soziale Räume zum großen Ganzen – dem Erdkörper? Die Künstlerin untersucht in einer choreografischen Vermessungsperformance die emotionalen Zwischenräume zwischen entfernt liegenden menschlichen Messpunkten.

Jakob&Manila, „Wonderful World“, 2018, Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29

Jakob&Manila

Wonderful World

Passanten des Osnabrücker Neumarktes werden an einem „Infostand“ von dem Künstlerpaar Jakob&Manila eingeladen, rosarote Brillen aufzusetzen und die Umgebung zu erkunden. In einem anschließenden Interview werden die Beobachtungen festgehalten, die die Teilnehmenden etwa bei Spaziergang in der Umgebung gemacht haben. Welche unbekannten Eindrücke konnten sie sammeln? Wie wirkt sich die visuelle Veränderung auf die Wahrnehmung der Umgebung aus? Die Beteiligten werden im Anschluss an die Felderkundung gebeten zu beschreiben, was sie gesehen haben. Die gesammelten O-Töne dienen den Künstlern als Grundlage für eine Videoarbeit.
Katrina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov, „Reassemble“, 2018, Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29

Katrina Kuznetcowa & Alexander Edisherov

Reassemble

Das Künstlerpaar flechtet mit farbigen Bändern ein geometrisches Muster in Absperrgitter, das die „verschlüsselte“ Problematik des Neumarktes andeutet: Zwei verschiedene Hälften, die durch zackig gehaltene Linien miteinander verwoben sind, werden zu einem kodierten Signalbild für den Neumarkt. An der Grenze zwischen Alt- und Neustadt entstanden, hat der dieser Ort im Zentrum bis heute seine Form als eine Trennlinie bewahrt. Das Flechtwerk in den Absperrgittern steht für einen funktionalen Wandel und für neue Bilder: Aus der Absperrung wird ein Informationsträger. Für das Projekt „Tangency 2018“ wird das Künstlerpaar an mehreren Absperrgittern am Neumarkt eine Woche lang weben. Am Ende werden die Flechtwerke in einer Prozession vom Neumarkt bis zum Kunstraum „hase29“ getragen, wo sie in der Ausstellung „so urban!“ zu besichtigen sind.
Diana Sirianni, Neumarkt, 2018, Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29

Diana Sirianni

Neumarkt

Fotografien von ausgewählten Bereichen einer Fassade werden von der Künstlerin durch digitale Manipulationen verfremdet. In Form großformatiger Abzüge werden diese Bildmotive an den entsprechenden Fassaden aufgetragen und sorgen so für einen irritierenden Effekt. Durch die augenscheinliche Verdoppelung von fotografischem Motiv und Fassade ergeben sich optische Verschiebungen, die das Auge beanspruchen und die zu genauem Hinsehen verleiten. Diana Sirianni schafft eine räumliche Fotocollage, die wie eine Bühne wirkt, auf der sie sich zusammen mit Passanten bewegt. An zwei Tagen kommt Diana Sirianni mit Passanten ins Gespräch und lädt sie ein, Teil ihrer künstlerischen Intervention zu werden.

Elisabeth Windisch, „o.T.“, 2018, Osnabrück © Foto Kerstin Hehmann | hase29

Elisabeth Windisch

o.T. 

Der Neumarkt ist visuell geprägt von asphaltierter Fläche, Absperrung und permanent gewordenen temporären Leitsystemen. In dem durch Baustellen chaotisch anmutenden Stadtzentrum baut die Künstlerin über mehrere Tage mit Sicherheitsbaken eine Wand von ca. 3 m Höhe 9 m Länge. Die Ordnung und Farbigkeit der Elemente wirkt einerseits wie eine irritierende Barriere zwischen Fußgängerbereich und Verkehrsfläche andererseits erregt ein ungewöhnliches Muster die Aufmerksamkeit der Vorbeigehenden. Passanten sind eingeladen, einzelne Elemente umzubauen und so immer neue dreidimensionale Muster zu gestalten.
EnglishDeutsch