SHINING_GAP - Festival for light art

October 20-23, 2016

For four days, 12 international and regional artists transform the Osnabrück Botanical Garden into a fascinating course of light after dark. Walkable sculptures lead the audience into a mysterious world of light bodies that make the diversity of plants tangible. Bizarre installations, painting, a walk-in light tunnel and projections address the phenomenon of light in an impressive way. The walk becomes a tour of discovery through natural space and urbanity.

more

In accordance with the festival motto “Exploring new spaces”, (spatial) installations, video art, painting, light objects and interactive works of art cover the garden in a new light. For the first time, the Osnabrück Botanical Garden opens its doors in the dark and invites visitors to experience the plant-rich rock garden, which is particularly attractive due to its rock formations, as a backdrop for artistic interventions in a new way. The works of art on display are all specially designed for the location and literally immerse the flora and the landscape in a new light. Following the tendencies of contemporary light art, the works refer in their respective form to the surrounding space and natural phenomena and make them physically tangible in an impressive way. Some of the participating artists come from abroad and are mostly present during the exhibition. The festival presents artistic works from the fields of video, installation and painting. There are also temporary projects in public spaces.

Info: www.shininggap-festival.de
www.facebook.com/Shining_Gap-Festival

Artist * inside

Clemens Behr
Nikola Dicke
Irina & Marina Fabrizius
Andreas Gehlen
Victoria Gentsch
Constantin Hartenstein
Sigrid Sandmann
Jan Philip Scheibe
Lisa Weber & Markus Walenzyk
Simon Weckert
Oleg Yushko

Curator

Tim Rossberg

Sponsors

Sparkasse Osnabrück Foundation | Stadtwerke Osnabrück | City of Osnabrück | Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land eV | VGH Hagensieker & Trame GmbH | MA Systems Society for Event Technology GmbH

Accompanying event

Exploring new spaces - conference

read more

Sponsors

Sievert Foundation for Science and Culture

Duties of the foundation are the promotion of research and teaching, education, art and culture as well as international understanding. The foundation realizes its projects in particular in connection with the University of Osnabrück and the University of Osnabrück. Artistic and cultural events are primarily supported in the Osnabrück region and should have an international connection.

SHINING_GAP – Festival für Lichtkunst

20. – 23. Oktober 2016

Vier Tage lang verwandeln 12 internationale und regionale KünstlerInnen den Botanischen Garten Osnabrück nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit in einen faszinierenden Parcours aus Licht. Begehbare Skulpturen führen das Publikum in eine geheimnisvolle Welt aus Lichtkörpern, die die Pflanzenvielfalt erlebbar machen. Bizarre Installationen, Malerei, ein begehbarer Lichttunnel und Projektionen thematisieren das Phänomen Licht auf eindrückliche Weise. Der Spaziergang wird zur Erkundungstour durch Naturraum und Urbanität.

mehr

Entsprechend dem Festivalmotto „Exploring new spaces“ hüllen (Raum-)Installationen, Videokunst, Malerei, Lichtobjekte und interaktive Kunstwerke den Garten in ein neues Licht. Zum ersten Mal öffnet der Botanische Garten Osnabrück seine Tore im Dunklen und lädt BesucherInnen dazu ein, den pflanzenreichen und durch seine Felsformationen besonders reizvollen Steingarten als Kulisse für künstlerische Interventionen auf neuartige Weise zu erfahren. Die ausgestellten Kunstwerke werden allesamt speziell für den Ort konzipiert und tauchen Pflanzenwelt und Landschaft buchstäblich in ein neues Licht. Der Tendenzen der zeitgenössischer Lichtkunst folgend, nehmen die Werke in ihrer jeweiligen Gestalt Bezug auf den sie umgebenden Raum und Naturphänomene und machen diese auf beeindruckende Weise physisch erlebbar. Die teilnehmenden Künstler reisen teilweise aus dem Ausland an und sind während des Ausstellung überwiegend anwesend. Das Festival präsentiert künstlerische Arbeiten aus den Bereichen Video, Installation und Malerei. Außerdem finden temporäre Projekte im öffentlichen Raum statt.

Infos: www.shininggap-festival.de
www.facebook.com/Shining_Gap-Festival

Künstler*innen

Clemens Behr
Nikola Dicke
Irina & Marina Fabrizius
Andreas Gehlen
Victoria Gentsch
Constantin Hartenstein
Sigrid Sandmann
Jan Philip Scheibe
Lisa Weber & Markus Walenzyk
Simon Weckert
Oleg Yushko

Kurator

Tim Roßberg

Sponsoren

Stiftung der Sparkasse Osnabrück | Stadtwerke Osnabrück | Stadt Osnabrück | Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land e.V. | VGH Hagensieker & Trame GmbH | M.A. Systems Gesellschaft für Eventtechnik GmbH

Begleitende Veranstaltung

Exploring new Spaces - Tagung

mehr lesen

Sponsor

Sievert Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Kultur

Aufgaben der Stiftung sind die Förderung der Forschung und der Lehre, der Bildung, der Kunst und Kultur sowie der Völkerverständigung. Die Stiftung verwirklicht ihre Vorhaben insbesondere in Verbindung mit der Universität Osnabrück und der Hochschule Osnabrück. Künstlerische und kulturelle Veranstaltungen werden vornehmlich in der Region Osnabrück unterstützt und sollten einen internationalen Bezug aufweisen.

EnglishDeutsch