SHEHERAZADE

March - June 2019

exhibition
The video SHEHERAZADE by Sophia Pompéry and Sebastian Riemer focuses on a moving surface of water that moves back and forth meditatively in a calm rhythm. Only at second glance do you recognize the fishing line in the light reflections, which dips almost invisibly into the depths of the water. 

more
Pompéry's poetic video work plays with our perception and invites us to look closely. In the title of the work the artist gives us a literary hint: Sheherazade is one of the main characters from the Persian stories of the Arabian Nights.
She tells the king a new story every night in order to avoid death.
In this finely meditative work, the artist deals with the element of water and at the same time with the aspect of perception and the continuity of narration. As in her installation Luv and Lee, which she realized together with Lena von Goedeke in hase29, she subtly and astutely shows the viewer how ambivalent and puzzling our perception is.

https://vimeo.com/133385736

2014, video installation

1:42 min. Loop, color, no sound, HD, 16: 9

Participating artists

Sophia Pompéry
Sebastian Riemer

SHEHERAZADE

März – Juni 2019

Ausstellung
Das Video SHEHERAZADE von Sophia Pompéry und Sebastian Riemer fokussiert eine bewegte Wasseroberfläche, die sich meditativ in einem ruhigen Rhythmus hin und her bewegt. Erst auf den zweiten Blick erkennt man in den Lichtreflexen die Angelschnur, die fast unsichtbar in die Tiefe des Wassers taucht. 

mehr
Pompérys poetische Videoarbeit spielt mit unserer Wahrnehmung und fordert zum genauen Hinsehen auf. Im Werktitel gibt uns die Künstlerin einen literarischen Hinweis: Sheherazade ist eine der Hauptfiguren aus den persischen Geschichten von Tausendundeiner Nacht.
Sie erzählt dem König jede Nacht eine neue Geschichte, um so dem Tod zu entgehen.
In dieser feinsinning-meditativen Arbeit beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin mit dem Element Wasser und zugleich mit dem Aspekt der Wahrnehmung und der Kontinuität des Erzählens. Wie in ihrer Installation Luv und Lee, die sie gemeinsam mit Lena von Goedeke in hase29 realisiert hat, führt sie dem Betrachter subtil und scharfsinnig vor Augen, wie ambivalent und rätselhaft unsere Wahrnehmung ist.

https://vimeo.com/133385736

2014, Videoinstallation

1:42 min. Loop, Farbe, ohne Ton, HD, 16:9

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Sophia Pompéry
Sebastian Riemer

EnglishDeutsch