reprint. Change through reproduction

May 10 - June 8, 2019

exhibition
To reproduce things does not only mean to reproduce them, but also opens up the question of how what is reproduced is changed by the process of reproduction? Does what is reproduced influence our old idea of ​​a unique original? In today's digital world, the originals no longer exist, but artificial artifacts, complex ideas and digital images, which at best refer back to what was previously reproduced.

 

(in front) Nick Ervinck I (right) Hannah Regenberg I (left) Jonas Fleckenstein
Photo: Frank Gillich

more

The changes that have been initiated since the beginnings of reproduction processes (19th century: photography; 20th century: film / video; 21st century: 3-D printing) are likely to continue. The old idea of ​​the original masterpiece will not dissolve, but it will change fundamentally - reproductions are images that reproduce their own creation process in a sophisticated and now highly technical way and thereby relativize the earlier claim of art to produce unique originals.

Reproduction means today: taking up old images and new processes in order to transform them into new image realities using applied reproduction techniques. Everything that can be repeated and, above all, digitized as it is today, can be reproduced at will.

This exhibition presents works by artists who start from a given "model" (a typographical detail, a stitch pattern, a serviette ornament, an ink pad) and create novel variants. The result is always a result between a changed original pattern (original) and a newly documented form of reproduction, which gradually arises through repeated reproductions.

Participating artists

Manfred Blieffert
Nick Ervinck
Jonas Fleckenstein
Kati Gausmann
Birgit Kannengießer
Lola runner
Jan Neukirchen
Sophia Pompéry
Hannah Regenberg
David Semper
Nasan Tur
Wiebke Wilm

Sponsors

Participating artists

Manfred Blieffert
Nick Ervinck
Jonas Fleckenstein
Kati Gausmann
Birgit Kannengießer
Lola runner
Jan Neukirchen
Sophia Pompéry
Hannah Regenberg
David Semper
Nasan Tur
Wiebke Wilm

Picture Gallery

Photos: Frank Gillich

reprint. Wandel durch Reproduktion

10. Mai – 8. Juni 2019

reprint. Wandel durch Reproduktion

10. Mai – 8. Juni 2019

Ausstellung
Dinge zu reproduzieren, bedeutet nicht nur, diese zu vervielfältigen, sondern eröffnet auch die Frage, wie das Reproduzierte durch den Vorgang der Reproduktion verändert wird? Beeinflusst das jeweils Reproduzierte unsere alte Vorstellung von einem einmaligen Original? In der heutigen digitalen Welt existieren längst nicht mehr die Originale, sondern künstliche Artefakte, komplexe Ideen und digitale Bilder, die bestenfalls auf bereits früher Reproduziertes zurückverweisen.

 

(in front) Nick Ervinck I (right) Hannah Regenberg I (left)Jonas Fleckenstein
Foto: Frank Gillich

mehr

Der Wandel, der seit den Anfängen von Reproduktionsverfahren eingeleitet wurde (19. Jahrhundert: Fotografie; 20. Jahrhundert: Film / Video; 21. Jahrhundert: 3-D- Druck), wird sich wahrscheinlich noch fortsetzen. Die alte Idee des originalen Meisterwerks wird sich dabei nicht auflösen, aber doch grundlegend verändern – Reproduktionen sind Bilder, die auf raffinierte und inzwischen hochgradig technische Weise ihren eigenen Entstehungsprozess reproduzieren und dabei den früheren Anspruch der Kunst, einzigartige Originale zu produzieren, relativieren.

Reproduzieren heißt also heute: Alte Bilder und neue Verfahren aufzugreifen, um sie mit angewandten Reproduktionstechniken in neue Bildwirklichkeiten zu transformieren. Alles was wiederholbar und vor allem wie heute digitalisierbar ist, lässt sich beliebig vervielfältigen.

Diese Ausstellung präsentiert Werke von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die von einem gegebenen „Vorbild“ (einem typographischen Detail, einem Maschenmuster, einem Serviettenornament, einem Stempelkissen) ausgehen und neuartige Varianten erzeugen. Das Resultat ist jeweils ein Ergebnis zwischen einem veränderten Ursprungsmuster (Original) und einer jeweils neu dokumentierten Form von Reproduktion, die durch ein immer neues Reproduzieren allmählich entsteht.

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Manfred Blieffert
Nick Ervinck
Jonas Fleckenstein
Kati Gausmann
Birgit Kannengießer
Lola Läufer
Jan Neukirchen
Sophia Pompéry
Hannah Regenberg
David Semper
Nasan Tur
Wiebke Wilm

Sponsoren

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Manfred Blieffert
Nick Ervinck
Jonas Fleckenstein
Kati Gausmann
Birgit Kannengießer
Lola Läufer
Jan Neukirchen
Sophia Pompéry
Hannah Regenberg
David Semper
Nasan Tur
Wiebke Wilm

Bildergalerie

Fotos: Frank Gillich