No one is no one – Stefanie Trojan and Markus Vater

Duration of the exhibition: 13.02. – 08.04.2023, opening 12.02.2023, 11 a.m
curated by Friederike Fast and Jasmina Janoschka

The double exhibition "No one is no one" with works by the artists Stefanie Trojan and Markus Vater emphasizes the importance of interpersonal interaction and is dedicated to the topics of "encounter", "empathy" and "care". Against the background of the corona pandemic, the ongoing acts of war in Ukraine and the threat of the climate crisis, the question of what holds society together internally is becoming increasingly urgent.

read more

On social media such as Facebook, Instagram and Tik Tok, almost every aspect of one's life is shared with a large audience every minute. At the same time, face-to-face interpersonal encounters seem to have become more difficult and we are taking less and less responsibility for each other in our society - even though numerous challenges of our time can only be solved together.

At the center of the exhibition "No one is no one" are fundamental questions about being human and about shared experiences. The videos, photographs, drawings and performances by the two artists Stefanie Trojan and Markus Vater enter into a lively dialogue in the art space hase29 and at the same time stimulate the exchange with and between the visitors.

Stefanie Trojan

Surprised based on local conditions Stefanie Trojan (*1976 in Neu Ulm, works in Frankfurt am Main) often attracts audiences with their performances. By unexpectedly intervening in everyday situations, she breaks with the viewer's habits and expectations and questions their behavioral patterns. It is usually very simple, subversive actions or questions that confront her counterpart. Despite the simplicity and directness, her performances develop a complex effect. Not only are they humorous, they are also deeply touching and encourage you to take a fresh look at current topics and critically examine your own attitude. In this way, the artist creates not only interpersonal situations but also effective images.

Photo: Stefanie Trojan, supple, 4-week performance, Royal Gallery, Munich 2006, photo: Petra Schmid © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Markus Vater

Markus Vater (*1970 in Düsseldorf, lives there and in London) captures the absurdities of everyday life in his works and at the same time creates poetic metaphors and tongue-in-cheek stories that make you think. His often laconic, surreal drawings and comic-like animated films, but also his performances are not only an expression of an empathetic connection with other people, but also with other living beings in general. So here the concept of "care" is correspondingly broader and also applied to the earth with its more-than-human fauna and flora.

Photo: Markus Vater, About Loneliness, Mobile, 300 x 300 x 200 cm, 2015 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

EnglishDeutsch

Niemand ist niemand – Stefanie Trojan und Markus Vater

Ausstellungsdauer: 13.02. – 08.04.2023, Eröffnung 12.02.2023, 11 Uhr
kuratiert von Friederike Fast und Jasmina Janoschka

Die Doppelausstellung „Niemand ist niemand“ mit Werken der Künstler:innen Stefanie Trojan und Markus Vater hebt die Bedeutung des zwischenmenschlichen Miteinanders hervor und widmet sich den Themen „Begegnung“, „Empathie“ und „Fürsorge“. Vor dem Hintergrund der Corona-Pandemie, den anhaltenden Kriegshandlungen in der Ukraine sowie der Bedrohung durch die Klimakrise wird die Frage danach, was die Gesellschaft im Inneren zusammenhält, immer dringender.

weiterlesen

In sozialen Medien wie Facebook, Instagram und Tik Tok wird im Minutentakt nahezu jeder Aspekt des eigenen Lebens mit einem großen Publikum geteilt. Gleichzeitig scheinen zwischenmenschliche Begegnungen von Angesicht zu Angesicht schwieriger geworden zu sein und wir übernehmen in unserer Gesellschaft immer weniger Verantwortung füreinander – und das, obwohl sich zahlreiche Herausforderungen unserer Zeit nur gemeinschaftlich lösen lassen.

Im Zentrum der Ausstellung „Niemand ist niemand“ stehen grundsätzliche Fragen des Menschseins und des gemeinsamen Erlebens. Die Videos, Fotografien, Zeichnungen und Performances der beiden Künstler:innen Stefanie Trojan und Markus Vater treten im Kunstraum hase29 in einen lebendigen Dialog und regen zugleich den Austausch mit und zwischen den Besuchenden an.

Stefanie Trojan

Ausgehend von örtlichen Gegebenheiten überrascht Stefanie Trojan (*1976 in Neu Ulm, arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main) mit ihren Performances oftmals das Publikum. Indem sie unerwartet in alltägliche Situationen eingreift, bricht sie mit den Gewohnheiten und Erwartungen der Betrachtenden und hinterfragt ihre Verhaltensmuster. Dabei sind es meist ganz einfache, subversive Handlungen oder Fragen, mit denen sie ihr Gegenüber konfrontiert. Trotz der Einfachheit und Direktheit entwickeln ihre Performances eine komplexe Wirkung. Sie sind nicht nur humorvoll, sondern berühren zutiefst und regen dazu an, aktuelle Themen neu zu betrachten und die eigene Haltung kritisch zu beleuchten. Auf diese Weise schafft die Künstlerin neben zwischenmenschlichen Situationen auch wirkungsvolle Bilder.­

Foto: Stefanie Trojan, schmiegsam, 4-wöchige Performance, Galerie Royal, München 2006, Foto: Petra Schmid © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Markus Vater

Markus Vater (*1970 in Düsseldorf, lebt ebenda sowie in London) fängt in seinen Werken die Absurditäten des Alltags ein und kreiert zugleich poetische Metaphern und augenzwinkernde Erzählungen, die nachdenklich stimmen. Sein­e vielmals lakonischen, surrealen Zeichnungen und comichaften Animationsfilme­, aber auch seine Performances sind nicht nur Ausdruck einer empathischen Verbindung mit anderen Menschen, sondern auch mit anderen Lebewesen allgemein. So wird hier der Begriff der „Fürsorge“ entsprechend weiter gefasst und auch auf die Erde mit ihrer mehr-als-menschlichen Fauna und Flora übertragen.

Foto: Markus Vater, Über die Einsamkeit, Mobile, 300 x 300 x 200 cm, 2015 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

EnglishDeutsch