Martin Hesselmeier. Poetry of matter

December 6, 2019 - January 24, 2020

exhibition

"A picture is built like a house"
In the art space hase29 from December 6, 2019, light particles will roll up and down along wave-shaped LED strips, accelerate and decelerate, and shuttle back and forth. The Cologne artist Martin Hesselmeier makes light tangible in his expansive installation in an unusual way. The encounter between art and research is impressively demonstrated in the installation “the weight of light”, which was awarded the International Light Art Prize. Because the light of the installations illuminates the darkened exhibition space variably and appears like liquid mass. Synchronously with the movement of the light, the sound of the installation also wanders through the exhibition space.


In the art space hase29 from December 6, 2019, light particles will roll up and down along wave-shaped LED strips, accelerate and decelerate, and shuttle back and forth. The Cologne artist Martin Hesselmeier makes light tangible in his expansive installation in an unusual way. The encounter between art and research is impressively demonstrated in the installation “the weight of light”, which was awarded the International Light Art Prize. Because the light of the installations illuminates the darkened exhibition space variably and appears like liquid mass. Synchronously with the movement of the light, the sound of the installation also wanders through the exhibition space.

 

"The Weight of Light", 2015
Photo: Frank Gillich
more

The other works shown are also about harnessing innovative technologies, for example when Hesselmeier lets small robots run over photo paper and these leave visible traces as notes of their mechanical dance. What all the projects presented have in common is the poetry inherent in the materials used. The exhibition is an encouragement to get involved with the ephemeral, the beauty of the situational and, last but not least, the limitless potential of light.

Martin Hesselmeier, born in Schwetzingen in 1978, studied at the Mannheim University of Design and the Cologne Academy of Media Arts. With his site-specific installations he explores and questions the limits of human perception. He devotes himself in particular to scientific topics and questions. Hesselmeier's works and projects are present both domestically and internationally - including in São Paulo, Riga, Tokyo, Istanbul, London.

The project is funded by the City of Osnabrück, the Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land eV and the innogy Foundation for Energy and Society. The education program is made possible by the Felicitas and Werner Egerland Foundation.

Participating artist

Martin Hesselmeier

Curator

Tim Rossberg

Sponsors

"The weight of light", 2015

Picture Gallery

 

"Micro energy harvesting", 2019

Photos: Frank Gillich

Robots for "photofeedback"

“Photofeedback”, 2005 Four robots

"The weight of light", 2015

Martin Hesselmeier. Poesie der Materie

6. Dezember 2019 – 24. Januar 2020

Ausstellung

„Ein Bild wird gebaut wie ein Haus“
Im Kunstraum hase29 rollen ab 6. Dezember 2019 entlang von wellenförmigen LED-Bahnen Lichtpartikel auf und ab, beschleunigen und verlangsamen, pendeln hin und her. Der Kölner Künstler Martin Hesselmeier macht Licht in seiner raumgreifenden Installation auf ungewöhnliche Weise erfahrbar. Das Aufeinandertreffen von Kunst und Forschung zeigt sich eindrucksvoll in der mit dem Internationalen Lichtkunstpreis prämierten Installation „the weight of light“ (das Gewicht des Lichts). Denn das Licht der Installationen erleuchtet den verdunkelten Ausstellungsraum variabel und erscheint wie flüssige Masse. Synchron zur Bewegung des Lichts wandert auch der Klang der Installation im Ausstellungsraum.


Im Kunstraum hase29 rollen ab 6. Dezember 2019 entlang von wellenförmigen LED-Bahnen Lichtpartikel auf und ab, beschleunigen und verlangsamen, pendeln hin und her. Der Kölner Künstler Martin Hesselmeier macht Licht in seiner raumgreifenden Installation auf ungewöhnliche Weise erfahrbar. Das Aufeinandertreffen von Kunst und Forschung zeigt sich eindrucksvoll in der mit dem Internationalen Lichtkunstpreis prämierten Installation „the weight of light“ (das Gewicht des Lichts). Denn das Licht der Installationen erleuchtet den verdunkelten Ausstellungsraum variabel und erscheint wie flüssige Masse. Synchron zur Bewegung des Lichts wandert auch der Klang der Installation im Ausstellungsraum.

 

the weight of light_ 2015 Martin Hesselmeier_Andreas Muxel
Foto: Frank Gillich

mehr

Auch in den weiteren gezeigten Arbeiten geht es um die Nutzbarmachung innovativer Technologien, z.B. wenn Hesselmeier kleine Roboter über Fotopapier fahren lässt und diese sichtbare Spuren als Notizen ihres mechanischen Tanzes hinterlassen. Allen präsentierten Projekten gemein ist die Poesie, die den verwendeten Werkstoffen innewohnt. Die Ausstellung ist eine Ermutigung, sich einzulassen auf das Ephemere, die Schönheit des Situativen und nicht zuletzt auf die grenzenlosen Potentiale des Lichts.

Martin Hesselmeier, 1978 in Schwetzingen geboren, studierte an der Hochschule für Gestaltung in Mannheim und an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. Er erforscht und hinterfragt mit seinen ortsspezifischen Installationen die Grenzen der menschlichen Wahrnehmung. Dabei widmet er sich insbesondere naturwissenschaftlichen Themen und Fragestellungen. Hesselmeiers Arbeiten und Projekte sind im Inland wie auch international präsent – u.a. in São Paulo, Riga, Tokio, Istanbul, London.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Stadt Osnabrück, den Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land e.V. und die innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft. Das Vermittlungsprogramm wird ermöglicht durch die Felicitas- und Werner Egerland Stiftung.

Teilnehmender Künstler

Martin Hesselmeier

Kurator

Tim Rossberg

Sponsoren

Bildergalerie

 

„micro energy harvesting“, 2019

Fotos: Frank Gillich

Roboter für „photofeedback“

„photofeedback“, 2005 Vier Roboter

„the weight of light”, 2015