LIKE A HOUSE

August 17 - October 12, 2019

exhibition

"A picture is built like a house"

The artist Tim Cierpiszewski shows his work "LIKE A HOUSE" in the Society for Contemporary Art Osnabrück eV, hase 29.

The artist Tim Cierpiszewski feeds linear grids, forms and patterns into the spatial structure of the society for contemporary art, hase29, with the greatest possible precision. The colored works that fill the wall develop a visual pull. Inspired by the minimalist compositions by Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, the artist designs a variety of dynamic, sonorous patterns. The title of the exhibition is also based on a quote from Vordemberge-Gildewart: “A picture is built like a house”.

 

 

more

The 41-year-old designed three walls with wall-filling color prints that seem to burst open the room. His work offers a variety of incentives to discover and search for reference points. Tim Cierpiszewski: “This is a picture remix. Differences and analogies in particular play an important role. ”As in current media and pop culture, a large number of images are used in his installation and transformed into something new and unique. 

Tim Cierpiszewski places three walls in the room, referring to a single sloping side wall from 60s architecture. As a result, the clear structure of the exhibition space, a former supermarket, is shifted almost clockwise. While seven rectangular columns create a central depth effect, the arrangement of the mobile walls and their dynamic design with wall-filling color prints create a new, sometimes irritating spatial structure of inclines and diagonals. The installation of mobile walls in the exhibition space goes back to Mies van der Rohe's architectural vision, which he realized, for example, in 1929 for the world exhibition in the Barcelona pavilion.

biography
Tim Cierpiszewski was born in Bottrop in 1978. He first studied philosophy at the University of Essen. From 2003 he began to study fine art at the Kunstakademie Münster. In 2009 he became a master class student.

Like a house. Tim Cierpiszewski. romm installation at hase29. Photo: Angela von Brill
Photo: Angela von Brill

Participating artist

Tim Cierpiszewski

Sponsors

LIKE A HOUSE

17. August – 12. Oktober 2019

Ausstellung

„Ein Bild wird gebaut wie ein Haus“

Der Künstler Tim Cierpiszewski zeigt seine Arbeit „LIKE A HOUSE“ in der Gesellschaft für zeitgenössische Kunst Osnabrück e.V., hase 29.

Mit größtmöglicher Präzision speist der Künstler Tim Cierpiszewski lineare Raster, Formen und Muster in das Raumgefüge der Gesellschaft für zeitgenössische Kunst, hase29, ein. Die wandfüllenden farbigen Arbeiten entwickeln eine visuelle Sogwirkung. Inspiriert von den minimalistischen Kompositionen von Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart entwirft der Künstler eine Vielzahl von dynamisch-klangvollen Mustern. Auch der Ausstellungstitel lehnt sich an ein Zitat von Vordemberge-Gildewart an: „Ein Bild wird gebaut wie ein Haus“.

 

 

mehr

Drei Wände gestaltet der 41jährige mit wandfüllenden Farbdrucken, die den Raum aufzusprengen scheinen. Seine Arbeiten bieten vielfältige Anreize zum Entdecken und Suchen von Bezugspunkten. Tim Cierpiszewski: „Das ist ein Bild-Remix. Besonders Differenzen und Analogien spielen eine wichtige Rolle.“ Wie in aktuellen Medien und Pop Kultur werden auch in seiner Installation eine Vielzahl von Bildern verwertet und zu etwas Neuem und Einzigartigen transformiert. 

Tim Cierpiszewski platziert drei Wände im Raum und nimmt dabei Bezug auf eine einzelne schräge Seitenwand der 60er Jahre Architektur. Dadurch wird die klare Gliederung des Ausstellungsraumes, ein ehemaliger Supermarkt, quasi im Uhrzeigersinn verschoben. Während sieben rechteckige Säulen eine zentrale Tiefenwirkung hervorrufen, entsteht durch die Anordnung der mobilen Wände und ihre dynamische Gestaltung mit wandfüllenden Farbdrucken ein neuartiges, bisweilen irritierendes Raumgefüge aus Schrägen und Diagonalen. Die Installation mobiler Wände im Ausstellungsraum geht zurück auf die architektonische Vision Mies van der Rohes, die dieser z.B. 1929 zur Weltausstellung im Barcelona-Pavillon realisiert hat.

Biografie
Tim Cierpiszewski wurde 1978 in Bottrop geboren. Er studierte zunächst Philosophie an der Universität Essen. Ab 2003 begann er ein Studium der freien Kunst an derKunstakademie Münster. 2009 wurde er Meisterschüler.

Like a House. Tim Cierpiszewski. romm installation at hase29. Foto: Angela von Brill
Foto: Angela von Brill

Teilnehmender Künstler

Tim Cierpiszewski

Sponsoren

EnglishDeutsch