"Lab Europe" Germany | safety first

August 16 - September 8, 2018

exhibition
Twelve young artists under the age of 25 from the cultural heritage cities deal with the topic of "Security Today". The works exhibited in the art space hase29 were created in the art laboratory during the project period (August 16-24.8.2018, XNUMX).
From left to right: Luca Cadeddu, Helene Büker, Roman Gojayev, Natalia Olmedo, Tariq Alsaadi, Azim Becker, Chrsitina Oelrich, Marcos Karouzi, Sotiris Sotiris Tsiganos, Veronika Simmering, Leonie Hafen, Olga Gayko (Organization) Ionian Bisai | Photo: Angela von Brill
Laboratory art
The threat is not just a media experience, but is becoming increasingly visible in people's everyday lives: Concrete barriers in front of the promenade, almost comprehensive video surveillance in cities and rising insurance premiums against damage from storms are preventive measures to increase citizens' sense of security. The insurmountable fences at the EU's external borders also serve to prevent an alleged threat.
How do young people in Europe think about security? What questions do you ask in relation to European, national or individual security in the face of global threats from terror, displacement and displacement, unemployment or climate change?
The exhibition gives an insight into the diversity of the questions posed by the eleven artists and their artistic approaches.

You will receive further information here.

Participating artists

Luca Cadeddu
Helene Büker
Roman Gojayev
Natalia Olmedo
Tariq Alsaadi
Azim Becker
Chrsitina Oelrich
Marcos Karouzi
Stiris Tsiganos, Ionian Bisai
Veronika Simmering
Leonie Hafen

Sponsors

Participating artists

in detail

Helene Büker

"Newsfaker", sound installation

The sound installation “NEWSFAKER” on the toilets in the art space hase29 focuses on the act of media censorship. If you go to this place, you will find a newspaper rack containing a copy of the New York Times and listen to a voice reciting a text like a news anchor. However, this only consists of fragments that the artist systematically filtered out of the New York Times. Well-known buzzwords that are known from the media context, but which do not seem to make any sense.
The boundaries between truth and untruth, reality and fiction, fact and fake are becoming more and more opaque. Journalism is exposed to clear criticism here. He is suspected of failing in his objectivity and of reproducing information selectively and in a filtered manner.
Natalia Merlo Olmedo, "Unsure"
Art Performance, Video Installation, 2018, Osnabrück ©?

Natalia Merlo Olmedo

"Unsure" art performance

In the present we seem safe. But there are still some holes, small but very painful, that can leave psychological footprints in our heads. We are waiting to be saved, but we are vulnerable in a world where safety is not a priority. We try to cover this up with justice. But people are already “soaked”, scared and tired. Confidence in security collapses and people ask, “Are we safe?
Marcos Karpouzi "A Cry For Safety", painting, 2018 Osnabrück ©?

Marcos Karpouzi

"A Cry For Safety", painting

Through my painting I wanted to express the mental, emotional and physical abuse that transgender people go through in their everyday life. We become distracted by our personal beliefs, stereotypes, and interests and therefore fail to see the pain others are going through. We are all different, but we should all be equal.
Tariq Alsaadi "Why not?", T-shirt Design, 2018, Osnabrück ©?

Tariq Alsaadi

"Why not?" T-shirt design

Tariq Alsaadi draws his bizarre types directly on T-shirts. Lush, hairy female legs and blond curly beards confuse the gender-specific image of society with humor. Do people, especially men, feel threatened in their safety if they look or look different? Why can't men wear skirts without fear of discrimination? What is masculinity anyway? Who made the rules? Why do we have to adapt to society in order to feel safe?
Azim Becker "See You, Watching You!" Video installation,
2018, Osnabrück ©?

Azim Becker

“See You, Watching You!” Video installation

The media installation simulates a control system in a surprising way. Based on the assumption that there are no boundaries between observation, surveillance and voyeurism, the scenes on the screens only become visible when looking through camera optics. Who knows whether the information collected will only be hidden behind the white screens or not be stored anonymously somewhere?
Sotiris Tsiganos / Ionian Bisai “Garden Walk - A
Performative Guided Tour ”video installation Lab Art
"Safety first" ©?

Sotiris Tsiganos / Ionian Bisai

“Garden Walk - A Performative Guided Tour” video installation Lab Art “Safety first”

Is a garden a safe place?
A group of young students invited by the artists searches for aspects of diversity, security and threats on a special guided tour through the Osnabrück Botanical Garden.
In an artificial tropical rainforest, the
is read as a living archive, the young participants get to know the stories of plants about resettlement, symbiosis and self-protection and look for connections between garden and everyday life through observation, discussion and imagination.
Leonie Hafen | Veronika Simmering "Spusis.ms", 2018,
Osnabrück ©?

Leonie Hafen | Veronika Simmering

"Spusis.ms"

Spusi.ms. is a mixed media project in which performance, photography and film are integrated. Veronika Simmering and Leonie Hafen from the Kunstakademie Münster take up the topic of Safety First in a humorous way. As employees of a fictional occupation of the Spusis, the two go out especially in the evening and mark things in public space that are out of order and give them a dramatic effect.
Gian Luca Cadeddu “Cut” photo collages, 2018, Osnabrück
©?

Gian Luca Cadeddu

“Cut” photo collages

The work series "Cut" deals with the interpretation of the concept of limit. The minimal interventions in three Google Earth images from the Osnabrück area make it clear how easily borderline situations arise and how inconspicuous they can appear. The fragmentation of the landscape by a white line symbolizes the borders that we draw in a multicultural and densely populated Europe not only on the outermost edge, but also on the inside. Connecting seems more important today than ever before.
Roman Gojayev, “Love hurts
wonderful ”performance, 2018,
Osnabrück ©?

Roman Gojayev

"Love hurts wonderfully"
Performance

The performance is inspired by a 10th century poem by the first female poet in Asian history, Rābi'a Balkhi: "If you want to love to the end, you have to eat poison but call it honey". The artist Roman Gojayev is surrounded by shards of broken bottles. These contained quotes from poets who were betrayed by love.
The barrier between the artist and the performers suggests barriers of love that real lovers must overcome. There are many posts on the topic of love in more than eleven languages, written in different centuries and places. All suggest that love is of existential importance always and everywhere.
During the exhibition, visitors can sit on the chairs, express themselves and write their feelings and memories on the blank paper.

WORK OF THE DIGITAL DESIGN / GAMING LABORATORY

August 16 - September 8, 2018

Christine Oelrich

"Security"

“What does security mean to you?” “What is the most terrifying scenario that you can imagine?” These questions have been answered by various people between the ages of 20-25 and their statements form the core of the audio collage. A female and a male voice prevent the recipients from identifying or categorizing the interviewees. The act of listening is a moment when two people come into contact. The main idea of ​​the project is to examine the phenomenon of "security" as a feeling, as something that comes from within. Listeners experience that the phenomenon of security is a strong human need that is individually defined, enriched and determined by personal experience. The aim was to examine some facets of this feeling and to find out how different people deal with the dangers and fears of our time.

Valentina Lachetta, Erika Branka, Piera Raineri, Gloria Scalco, Massimiliano Arosio & Eugenia Tsori

"Error 404: EU Not Found", Digital Media & Games Laboratory

Imagine a day when you get up and are no longer part of the European Union. What would you be missing and what experiences and feelings would that lead to? Even if we sometimes fail to see the value of the European Union and take it for granted, it is the result of considerable efforts made over the last century. We wanted to take up this topic in the context of a short film that tells of a dystopian world that is shaped by years of propaganda against foreigners, the euro zone and European ideals. As young people, we have chosen to describe this reality from the perspective of a young man facing the challenges of his daily life. Writing paper.

Piera Raineri, Erika Branca and Eugenia Tsori

"How much do you know about Europe?", Digital Media & Games Laboratory

Are you brave enough to test your knowledge of Europe? Sure, of course! Our project is a quiz game based on Twine, which combines knowledge questions about Europe with some questions about the film "Error 404: EU Not Found".
»Eurovatar« A project by Massimiliano Arosio, Valentina Lachetta & Gloria Scalco I Laboratory for Digital Media & Games
One of the main goals of the European Union was to achieve a real alliance that not only pursues economic goals but also extends to ideas and convictions - with the goal of a supranational state. In spite of all of this, cultural differences should be preserved, because Europe has numerous cultures
We wanted to create a “flip book”, so to speak, with the help of which one can mix cultures, gender identities and looks with one's own creativity.

Massimiliano Arosio

“Fading Message”, Digital Media & Games Laboratory

The aim of the installation is to show how the idea of ​​the European Union has changed in recent years. Many aspects have changed and the vision of Europe's founders has become a distant memory. A Europe closed to immigration, economic crises and nationalist politics are just a few examples of these changes. The installation consists of several CRT screens showing the signing of the Maastricht Treaty (1992), one of the two treaties that form the constitutional basis of the EU.

„Lab Europe“ Germany | safety first

16. August – 8. September 2018

Ausstellung
Zwölf junge Kunstschaffende unter 25 Jahre aus den Kulturerbe Städten setzen sich mit dem Thema „Sicherheit heute“ auseinander. Die im Kunstraum hase29 ausgestellten Werke wurden im Projektzeitraum (16. – 24.8.2018) im Labor Kunst geschaffen.
v.l.n.r : Luca Cadeddu, Helene Büker, Roman Gojayev, Natalia Olmedo, Tariq Alsaadi, Azim Becker, Chrsitina Oelrich, Marcos Karouzi, Sotiris Sotiris Tsiganos, Veronika Simmering, Leonie Hafen, Olga Gayko (Organisation) Ionian Bisai | Foto: Angela von Brill
Labor Kunst
Bedrohung ist nicht nur eine mediale Erfahrung, sondern wird im Alltag der Menschen zunehmend sichtbar: Betonsperren vor der Flaniermeile, eine nahezu flächendeckende Videoüberwachung in den Städten und steigende Versicherungsprämien gegen Schäden von Unwettern sind Präventionsmaßnahmen zur Steigerung des Sicherheitsempfindens der Bürger. Auch die unüberwindlichen Zäune an den EU-Außengrenzen dienen der Prävention gegen eine vermeintliche Bedrohung.
Wie denken junge Menschen in Europa über das Thema Sicherheit? Welche Fragen stellen sie in Bezug auf die europäische, nationale oder individuelle Sicherheit angesichts globaler Bedrohungen durch Terror, Flucht- und Vertreibung, Arbeitslosigkeit oder Klimawandel?
Die Ausstellung gibt einen Einblick in die Vielfalt der Fragestellungen der elf Künstlerinnen und Künstler und ihre künstlerischen Ansätze.

Weitere Infos erhalten Sie hier.

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Luca Cadeddu
Helene Büker
Roman Gojayev
Natalia Olmedo
Tariq Alsaadi
Azim Becker
Chrsitina Oelrich
Marcos Karouzi
Stiris Tsiganos, Ionian Bisai
Veronika Simmering
Leonie Hafen

Sponsoren

Teilnehmende Künstler/Innen

im Detail

Helene Büker

„Newsfaker“, Sound Installation

Die Sound Installation „NEWSFAKER“ auf den Toiletten im Kunstraum hase29 macht den Akt der medialen Zensur zum Thema. Wer sich an diesen Ort begibt, findet einen Zeitungsständer, der eine Ausgabe der New York Times enthält und lauscht einer Stimme, die wie ein Nachrichtensprecher einen Text vorträgt. Dieser besteht allerdings nur aus Fragmenten, die die Künstlerin systematisch aus der New York Times herausgefiltert hat. Bekannte Schlagworte, die zwar aus dem medialen Kontext bekannt sind, die jedoch keinen Sinn zu ergeben scheinen.
Die Grenzen zwischen Wahrheit und Unwahrheit, Realität und Fiktion, Fakt und Fake werden immer undurchsichtiger. Der Journalismus ist hierbei deutlicher Kritik ausgesetzt. Er gerät in den Verdacht, in seiner Objektivität zu versagen und Informationen selektiv und gefiltert wiederzugeben.
Natalia Merlo Olmedo, „Unsicher’’
Art Performance, Video Installation, 2018, Osnabrück © ?

Natalia Merlo Olmedo

„Unsicher’’ Art Performance

In der Gegenwart scheinen wir sicher zu sein. Aber es gibt immer noch einige Löcher, die zwar klein aber dennoch sehr schmerzhaft sind, die psychologische Fußabdrücke in unseren Köpfen hinterlassen können. Wir warten darauf gerettet zu werden, aber wir sind verletzbar in einer Welt, in der Sicherheit nicht an erster Stelle steht. Wir versuchen dies durch Gerechtigkeit zu überdecken. Aber die Menschen sind bereits „durchnässt“, verängstigt und müde. Die Zuversicht auf Sicherheit bricht zusammen und die Menschen fragen sich: „Sind wir sicher?
Marcos Karpouzi „A Cry For Safety“, Malerei, 2018 Osnabrück © ?

Marcos Karpouzi

„A Cry For Safety“, Malerei

Durch meine Malerei wollte ich die mentalen, emotionalen und physischen Schmähungen ausdrücken, die transsexuelle Menschen in ihrem Alltag durchleben. Wir lassen uns von unseren persönlichen Überzeugungen, Stereotypen und Interessen ablenken und versäumen daher, den Schmerz zu sehen, den andere durchleben. Wir sind alle unterschiedlich, aber wir sollten alle gleichberechtigt sein.
Tariq Alsaadi „Why not?“, T-shirt Design, 2018, Osnabrück © ?

Tariq Alsaadi

„Why not?“ T-shirt Design

Tariq Alsaadi zeichnet seine skurrilen Typen direkt auf T-Shirts. Üppig behaarte Frauenbeine und blond gelockte Barträger bringen das geschlechterspezifische Bild der Gesellschaft mit Humor durcheinander. Fühlen sich Menschen, vor allem Männer, in ihrer Sicherheit bedroht, wenn sie anders wirken oder aussehen? Warum können Männer nicht Röcke tragen, ohne Angst vor Diskriminierung zu haben? Was ist Männlichkeit überhaupt? Wer hat die Regeln dazu aufgestellt? Warum müssen wir uns an die Gesellschaft anpassen, um uns sicher zu fühlen?
Azim Becker „See You, Watching You!“ Videoinstallation,
2018, Osnabrück © ?

Azim Becker

„See You, Watching You!“ Videoinstallation

Die Media-Installation simuliert auf überraschende Weise ein Kontrollsystem. Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass es keine Grenzen zwischen Beobachtung, Überwachung und Voyeurismus gibt, werden auf den Bildschirmen die Szenen erst mit Blick durch eine Kameraoptik sichtbar. Wer weiß, ob die gesammelten Informationen nur hinter den weißen Bildschirmen verdeckt bleiben oder nicht doch irgendwo anonym gespeichert werden?
Sotiris Tsiganos / Ionian Bisai “Garden Walk – A
Performative Guided Tour” Videoinstallation Lab Art
„Safety first“ © ?

Sotiris Tsiganos / Ionian Bisai

“Garden Walk – A Performative Guided Tour” Videoinstallation Lab Art „Safety first“

Ist ein Garten ein sicherer Ort?
Eine von den Künstlern eingeladene Gruppe junger Studenten sucht bei einer speziellen Führung durch den Botanischen Garten Osnabrück nach Aspekten der Vielfalt, Sicherheit und Bedrohung.
In einem künstlichen tropischen Regenwald, der
als lebendiges Archiv gelesen wird, lernen die jungen TeilnehmerInnen die Geschichten der Pflanzen von Umsiedlung, Symbiose und Selbstschutz kennen und suchen durch Beobachtung, Diskussion und Imagination nach Verbindungen zwischen Garten und Alltag.
Leonie Hafen | Veronika Simmering „Spusis.ms“, 2018,
Osnabrück © ?

Leonie Hafen | Veronika Simmering

„Spusis.ms“

Spusi.ms. ist ein Mixed Media Projekt, indem Performance, Fotografie und Film integriert wird. Veronika Simmering und Leonie Hafen von der Kunstakademie Münster greifen das Thema Safety First in humoristischer Art und Weise auf. Als Mitarbeiterinnen eines fiktiven Berufes der Spusis ziehen die beiden vor allem abends los und markieren Dinge im öffentlichen Raum, die außerhalb der Ordnung sind und verleihen ihnen einen dramatischen Effekt.
Gian Luca Cadeddu “Cut” Fotocollagen, 2018, Osnabrück
© ?

Gian Luca Cadeddu

“Cut” Fotocollagen

Die Arbeitsreihe „Cut“ beschäftigt sich mit der Auslegung des Grenzbegriffes. Die minimalen Eingriffe in drei Google Earth Aufnahmen aus dem Osnabrücker Umland machen anschaulich, wie leicht Grenzsituationen entstehen und wie unauffällig sie erscheinen können. Die Landschaftszerschneidung durch eine weiße Linie steht sinnbildlich für Grenzen, die wir in einem multikulturellen und dicht besiedelten Europa nicht nur am äußersten Rand, sondern auch im Innern ziehen. Das Verbinden scheint im Heute wichtiger zu sein als je zuvor.
Roman Gojayev, “Liebe schmerzt
wunderbar” Performance, 2018,
Osnabrück © ?

Roman Gojayev

“Liebe schmerzt wunderbar”
Performance

Die Aufführung ist inspiriert von einem Gedicht aus dem 10. Jahrhundert der ersten Dichterin in der Geschichte Asiens, Rābi’a Balkhi: „Wenn du bis zum Ende lieben willst, musst du Gift essen, es aber Honig nennen“. Der Künstler Roman Gojayev ist umgeben von Scherben zerbrochener Flaschen. Diese enthielten Zitate von Dichtern, die von der Liebe verraten wurden.
Die Barriere zwischen Künstler und den Darstellern deutet auf Barrieren der Liebe, die echte Liebhaber überwinden müssen. Es gibt viele Beiträge zum Thema Liebe in mehr als elf Sprachen, die in verschiedenen Jahrhunderten und Orten geschrieben wurden. Alle deuten darauf hin, dass die Liebe immer und überall von existentieller Bedeutung ist.
Während der Ausstellung können die Besucher auf den Stühlen sitzen, sich dazu äußern und ihre Gefühle und Erinnerungen auf das leere Papier schreiben.

ARBEITEN DES LABORS DIGITAL DESIGN/GAMING

16. August – 8. September 2018

Christine Oelrich

„Sicherheit“

“Was bedeutet Sicherheit für dich?“ „Welches ist das erschreckendste Szenario, das du dir vorstellen kannst?“ Diese Fragen sind von verschiedenen Personen im Alter von 20-25 Jahren beantwortet worden, ihre Aussagen bilden den Kern der Audiocollage. Eine weibliche und eine männlicher Stimme verhindern, dass die Rezipienten die Interviewten identifizieren oder kategorisieren können. Der Akt des Zuhörens ist ein Moment, in dem zwei Personen miteinander in Kontakt treten. Die Hauptidee des Projektes ist es, das Phänomen „Sicherheit“ als Gefühl zu untersuchen, als etwas, das aus dem Inneren kommt. Zuhörende erleben, dass das Phänomen Sicherheit ein starkes menschliches Bedürfnis ist, das individuell definiert wird, angereichert und bestimmt durch die persönlichen Erfahrungen. Ziel war es, einige Facetten dieses Gefühls zu untersuchen und zu ergründen, wie unterschiedliche Personen sich mit Gefahren und Furcht unserer Zeit auseinandersetzen.

Valentina Lachetta , Erika Branka, Piera Raineri, Gloria Scalco, Massimiliano Arosio & Eugenia Tsori

„Error 404: EU Not Found“, Labor Digitale Medien & Games

Stellen Sie sich einen Tag vor, an dem Sie aufstehen und nicht länger ein Teil der Europäischen Union sind. Was würde Ihnen fehlen und zu welchen Erfahrungen und Gefühlen würde das führen? Auch wenn wir manchmal den Wert der Europäischen Union nicht sehen und sie als selbstverständlich begreifen, ist sie das Resultat von erheblichen Anstrengungen, die im letzten Jahrhundert unternommen wurden. Dieses Thema wollten wir im Rahmen eines Kurzfilms aufgreifen, der von einer dystopischen Welt erzählt, die durch jahrelange Propaganda gegen Ausländer, die Eurozone und die europäischen Ideale geprägt ist. Als junge Menschen haben wir uns entschieden, diese Realität aus dem Blickwinkel eines jungen Mannes zu beschreiben, der sich den Herausforderungen seines täglichen Lebens ausgesetzt sieht.Papier schreiben.

Piera Raineri, Erika Branca and Eugenia Tsori

„How much do you know about Europe?“, Labor Digitale Medien & Games

Sind Sie mutig genug, Ihr Wissen über Europa zu testen? Na klar! Unser Projekt ist ein auf Twine basierendes Quizspiel, das Wissensfragen über Europa mit einigen Fragen zum Film „Error 404: EU Not Found“ verbindet.
»Eurovatar« Ein Projekt von Massimiliano Arosio, Valentina Lachetta & Gloria Scalco I Labor Digitale Medien & Games
Eines der Hauptziele der Europäischen Union war das Erreichen einer wirklichen Allianz, die nicht nur wirtschaftliche Ziele verfolgt, sondern sich auf Ideen und Überzeugungen erstreckt — mithin mit dem Ziel eines supranationalen Staates. Bei alledem sollten kulturelle Differenzen aber durchaus erhalten bleiben, denn Europa verfügt über zahlreiche Kulturen
Wir wollten gewissermaßen ein „Daumenkino“ erstellen, mit dessen Hilfe man mit eigener Kreativität Kulturen, Geschlechteridentitäten und Aussehen mischen kann.

Massimiliano Arosio

„Fading Message“, Labor Digitale Medien & Games

Das Ziel der Installation ist es darzustellen, wie sich die Idee der Europäischen Union in den vergangenen Jahren verändert hat. Zahlreiche Aspekte haben sich gewandelt, und die Vision der Gründer Europas ist zu einer fernen Erinnerung geworden. Ein Europa, das sich Immigration verschließt, Wirtschaftskrisen und nationalistische Politik sind nur einige Beispiele für diese Veränderungen. Die Installation besteht aus mehreren Röhrenbildschirmen, die die Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Maastricht (1992) zeigt, eines der zwei Verträge, die die konstitutionelle Basis der EU formen.
EnglishDeutsch