NEARLY NOTHING

dimensions from absence

December 02.12.2022nd, 28.01.2023 – January 2.12.2022th, 19, opening Friday, December XNUMXnd, XNUMX at XNUMX p.m

Curated by Ann-Katrin Günzel, Michael Kröger, Elisabeth Lumme, Hermann Nöring

With works by Kati Gausmann, Lena von Goedeke, Alicja Kwade, Bjørn Melhus, Jürgen Stollhans, Matthias Stuchtey, Shigeru Takato, Christine Wamhoff/Tim Rossberg

 

Nearly nothing

The exhibition shows forms of absence that manifest themselves as emptiness or absence, but can also carry intimations of closeness. As the final point of this year's series "Neighborhood and Distance", the exhibition takes up both artistic positions that show spatial voids and the lack of physical presence as well as the dissolution.

All positions deal in different ways with being physically in the world, examining what closeness can mean for the individual and the community. They show that absence creates more than just a blank space, that it can have great meaning and create something new.

The exhibition ends on January 28, 2023

Events

Sunday, January 15.01.2023, 11.30 at XNUMX:XNUMX a.m

The work of art and its reception as well as some reflections on the subject of nothing, almost nothing, emptiness and absence

Lecture and discussion by and with Harald Kerber (Member of the Initiativkreis Philosophisches Café), moderated by Michael Kröger

Works of art in the exhibition "Almost Nothing" are reminiscent of traces, fragments and atmospheres that tell of the absence of people, their power and powerlessness, of observations of nothingness. With Adorno's Critical Art Theory, Harald Kerber reminds us that the medium of art, as a paradox of a utopian reconciliation of reified conditions, always dreams of contributing to this reconciliation in the form of works of art. “Art in itself is powerless. But she represents in fictional form what reality could be as reconciled and man as a player (Schiller).” (Harald Kerber). Whether “Fast Nothing” turns out to be such an appeal for reconciliation with social power may only become clear when we create our own picture of nothingness: in every visible work there is also something invisible (“nothing”); we cannot escape its power, but we can give it our form.

Friday, January 27.01.2023, 19 at XNUMX p.m

"one day one night Picture lecture of
artist
Lena von Goedeke on her Arctic journey

The events are free of charge, we welcome donations!

Workshops and accompanied exhibition talks for school classes and adults Appointment

 

Photo (video still): Tim Roßberg/ Christine Wamhoff

EnglishDeutsch

FAST NICHTS

Dimensionen von Abwesenheit

02.12.2022 – 28.01.2023, Eröffnung Freitag, 2.12.2022 um 19 Uhr

Kuratiert von Ann-Katrin Günzel, Michael Kröger, Elisabeth Lumme, Hermann Nöring

Mit Werken von Kati Gausmann, Lena von Goedeke, Alicja Kwade, Bjørn Melhus, Jürgen Stollhans, Matthias Stuchtey, Shigeru Takato, Christine Wamhoff/Tim Rossberg

 

Fast Nichts

Die Ausstellung zeigt Formen von Abwesenheit, die sich als Leere oder Fehlen manifestieren, dabei aber auch Ahnungen von Nähe in sich tragen können. Als Schlusspunkt der diesjährigen Reihe „Nähe und Distanz“ nimmt die Ausstellung sowohl künstlerische Positionen auf, die räumliche Leerstellen aufzeigen, als auch das Fehlen körperlicher Präsenz ebenso wie die Auflösung thematisieren.

Alle Positionen beschäftigen sich auf unterschiedliche Weise mit dem leiblichen In-der-Welt-Sein, untersuchen, was Nähe für den Einzelnen und die Gemeinschaft bedeuten kann. Sie zeigen, dass Abwesenheit mehr als bloß eine Leerstelle hervorruft, dass sie eine große Bedeutung haben und Neues hervorrufen kann.

Die Ausstellung endet am 28. Januar 2023

Veranstaltungen

Sonntag, 15.01.2023 um 11.30 Uhr

Das Kunstwerk und seine Rezeption sowie einige Überlegungen zum Thema Nichts, Fast-Nichts, Leere und Abwesenheit

Vortrag und Diskussion von und mit Harald Kerber (Mitglied des Initiativkreises Philosophisches Café), Moderation Michael Kröger

Kunstwerke erinnern in der Ausstellung „Fast nichts“ an Spuren, Fragmente und Atmosphären, die von der Abwesenheit der Menschen, seiner Macht und Ohnmacht, von Beobachtungen zum Nichts, erzählen. Harald Kerber erinnert mit Adornos Kritischer Kunst-Theorie daran, dass das Medium Kunst als Paradoxie einer utopischen Versöhnung der verdinglichten Verhältnisse immer davon träumt in Form von Kunstwerken zu dieser Versöhnung beizutragen. „Kunst an sich ist machtlos. Aber sie repräsentiert in fiktiver Gestalt, was die Wirklichkeit als versöhnte und der Mensch als Spielender (Schiller) sein könnten.“ (Harald Kerber). Ob sich „Fast Nichts“ als eine derartiger Appell der Versöhnung mit gesellschaftlicher Macht erweist, wird vielleicht erst deutlich, wenn wir uns unser eigenes Bild des Nichts erschaffen: In jedem sichtbaren Werk ist auch Unsichtbares („Nichts“) präsent; wir können uns deren Macht nicht entziehen, ihr aber unsere Form geben.

Freitag, 27.01.2023 um 19 Uhr

One Day One Night“ Bildervortrag der
Künstlerin
Lena von Goedeke zu ihrer Arktisreise

Die Veranstaltungen sind kostenlos, über Spenden freuen wir uns!

Workshops und begleitete Ausstellungsgespräche für Schulklassen und Erwachsene nach Terminvereinbarung

 

Foto (Videostill): Tim Roßberg/ Christine Wamhoff

Sponsoren

EnglishDeutsch