Canto Ostinato

5. November 2016

Music and art in an endless loop: the art space hase29 becomes a permanent sound space for six hours. Unlike in a concert, visitors are invited to come in and out as they please. The audience can take a seat on chairs or relax on mats or in deck chairs. Or they contribute to the creation of a music-inspired, expansive web that is developed by the artists Marion Alfing and Eva Preckwinkel.

more

Together with the textile artist and lecturer in textile design at the University of Osnabrück, Marion Alfing, Has Eva Preckwinkel developed the concept for the room installation with a participatory character. Over the duration of the performance, a knitted fabric made of black yarn silently spreads out in the exhibition space. Visitors are invited to follow the processes and repetitions of the endless music together with the artists by connecting threads to a spatial line structure and thus giving the rhythm of the music a pictorial form. The unity of music and space becomes a living sculpture over time.
The minimalist composition by the Dutch composer Simeon ten Holt (Bergen / NL 1923-2012) is performed non-stop in this 6-hour music performance with alternating casts of six musicians on two grand pianos. Variable sections are lined up one after the other, partially overlapping each other and constantly creating new variations. The piece of music grows in an apparently endless development and surrounds the listener with recurring motifs.

A cooperation with the Institute for Music at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences.

With the kind support of the Piano house Kemp.

Participating artists

Daria Bergen
Pillwoo Chun
Felix Janssen
Juhee Lee
Boy David Mackenroth
Gleb Tchepki
Eva Preckwinkel
Marion Alfing

Sponsors

City of Osnabrück | Sparkasse Osnabrück Foundation - Herrenteichslaischaft | Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land eV | Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture

Participating artists

in detail

Daria Bergen

Born in Russia, started playing the piano at the age of seven. Surrounded by musical family members and actors, she was enthusiastic about the stage from childhood. In 2008 she began her studies at the Institute for Music in Osnabrück. There she gained a lot of experience in the field of chamber music. In addition to the piano, she also played the marimba in the percussion ensemble. In 2010 she staged an independent concert with her colleague Manon Thiering, clarinet. She completed a semester abroad in 2011 at the Conservatoire de Lyon (F) with a big farewell concert. She finished her final concert in 2012 with a grade of one.

Pillwoo Chun

born in Seoul, Korea. From 1994 to 2011 he won various piano / music competitions in Korea. Since 2013 Pillwoo has been studying piano at the Musikhochschule Münster with Prof. Peter von Wienhardt. Since then he has performed various concerts in and around Münster. In 2015 he made a CD recording with pieces by Matthias Bonitz and in the same year the premiere of the pieces took place, in which Pillwoo excelled as a soloist. He also won the "Münster" university competition in the "Duo / Chamber Music" category.

Felix Janssen

began his musical training at an early age. At the age of six he got his first piano lessons. He is also a multiple prize winner in the “Jugend musiziert” competition in the “Solo piano” and “Piano accompaniment” categories. He made his first ensemble experience at the age of nine and has since been active in a wide variety of line-ups. In 2013 Felix Janssen received his Abitur at the Hümmling-Gymnasium Sögel and immediately afterwards began studying at the University of Osnabrück. There he studied music to become a teacher and received piano lessons from Julia Habiger-Prause until 2015. In 2015 he also began a second degree in piano at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. Since then he has been in the piano class of Prof. Joachim Rieke.

Juhee Lee

born in Paju, South Korea. She got her first piano lesson at the age of four. At the age of 19, Juhee played the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto with the Gyeong-Gi High School Orchestra in September 2009. In October 2010, Juhee began studying music with Prof. Clemens Rave at the Münster University of Music. Only a few years later, in January 2013, she won 1st place in the Steinway Award Competition. In 2015 Juhee played B. Smetana's Moldau in a live broadcast on Deutschlandradio Kultur "Hörprobe". 2015 the Moldau by B. Smetana (8hdg.) In the live broadcast of Deutschlandradio Kultur "Hörprobe".

Boy David Mackenroth

began playing the piano at the age of seven. With the support of Ursula König, he won numerous first prizes at all levels of the “Jugend musiziert” competition. In addition, he won two first prizes at the national Carl-Schroeder competition. In 2014 Boy David was honored with the North Rhine-Westphalian companion prize. Since 2015 he has been studying piano at the Osnabrück University of Music with Prof. Joachim Rieke. In April 2016 he was invited to a concert tour in Lublin (Poland).

Gleb Tchepki

Born in Berlin, he began playing the piano as a child. The first years were characterized by classical music. As a teenager he discovered his love for jazz. Since then he has been active in a wide variety of line-ups and genres, sometimes improvising, sometimes interpreting - from solo to big band. His studies in Osnabrück (since 2013) gave him the opportunity to learn from well-known musicians from the German jazz scene: Florian Weber, Pablo Held and Lars Duppler can count among his teachers.

Eva Preckwinkel

is a freelance artist specializing in painting and objects. Most recently she represented the city of Osnabrück as an artist at the hanseARTworks 2016 in Bergen (Norway), where she created an installation. In addition to her artistic work, she has initiated various art projects in the city and district of Osnabrück in recent years, including the year-round project “what happens to the garden?” On the cultural focus “Garden” of the city of Osnabrück 2015, the exhibitions fifty-fifty (2004) / fifty -fifty volume II (2014) and the "Sculpture Landscape Osnabrück 2007/2008".

Marion Afling

is a freelance artist.

Picture Gallery

Canto Ostinato

5. November 2016

Musik und Kunst in der Endlosschleife: Der Kunstraum hase29 wird für sechs Stunden zu einem permanenten Klangraum. Anders als in einem Konzert sind Besucher dazu eingeladen, nach Belieben ein- und auszutreten. Die Zuhörer haben die Möglichkeit, auf Stühlen Platz zu nehmen oder sich entspannt auf Matten oder in Liegestühlen niederzulassen. Oder sie wirken bei der Erschaffung eines von der Musik inspirierten, raumgreifenden Gespinstes mit, das von den Künstlerinnen Marion Alfing und Eva Preckwinkel entwickelt wird.

mehr

Zusammen mit der Textilkünstlerin und Lehrbeauftragen im Fach Textiles Gestalten an der Universität Osnabrück, Marion Alfing, hat Eva Preckwinkel das Konzept für die Rauminstallation mit partizipatorischem Charakter entwickelt. Über die Dauer der Performance breitet sich im Ausstellungsraum lautlos ein Gewirk aus schwarzen Garnen aus. Besucher sind eingeladen, gemeinsam mit den Künstlerinnen den Verläufen und Wiederholungen der endlosen Musik zu folgen, indem sie Fäden zu einem räumlichen Liniengerüst verknüpfen und so dem Rhythmus der Musik eine bildhafte Form verleihen. Die Einheit von Musik und Raum wird im Laufe der Zeit zur lebendigen Skulptur.
Die minimalistische Komposition von dem holländischen Komponisten Simeon ten Holt (Bergen/NL 1923-2012) wird in dieser 6-stündigen Musikperformance in wechselnder Besetzung von sechs Musikerinnen und Musikern an zwei Flügeln nonstop aufgeführt. Variable Abschnitte reihen sich aneinander, überlagern sich teilweise und lassen immer wieder neue Variationen entstehen. In einer scheinbar endlosen Entwicklung wächst das Musikstück an und umfängt die Zuhörer mit immer wiederkehrenden Motiven.

Eine Kooperation mit dem Institut für Musik der Hochschule Osnabrück.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von dem Pianohaus Kemp.

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

Daria Bergen
Pillwoo Chun
Felix Janssen
Juhee Lee
Boy David Mackenroth
Gleb Tchepki
Eva Preckwinkel
Marion Alfing

Sponsoren

Stadt Osnabrück | Stiftung der Sparkasse Osnabrück – Herrenteichslaischaft | Landschaftsverband Osnabrücker Land e.V. | Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

im Detail

Daria Bergen

in Russland geboren, begann ihr Klavierspiel im Alter von sieben Jahren. Umgeben von musikalischen Familienmitgliedern und Schauspielern war sie von Kind auf bühnenbegeistert. Im Jahr 2008 begann ihr Studium am Institut für Musik in Osnabrück. Dort sammelte sie viele Erfahrungen im Bereich Kammermusik. Im Schlagzeugensemble spielte sie außer Klavier auch Marimba. 2010 brachte sie ein eigenständiges Konzert auf die Bühne, mit ihrer Kollegin Manon Thiering, Klarinette. Ein Auslandssemester im Jahr 2011 am Conservatoire de Lyon (F) schloss sie mit einem großen Abschiedskonzert ab. Ihr Abschlusskonzert schloss sie im Jahr 2012 mit der Note Eins ab.

Pillwoo Chun

geboren in Seoul, Korea. Von 1994 bis 2011 gewann er diverse Klavier-/Musikwettbewerbe in Korea. Seit 2013 studiert Pillwoo Klavier an der Musikhochschule Münster bei Prof. Peter von Wienhardt. Seither führte er diverse Konzerte in Münster und Umgebung auf. 2015 machte er eine CD-Aufnahme mit Stücken von Matthias Bonitz und im selben Jahr fand die Uraufführung der Stücke statt, bei der Pillwoo als Solist brillierte. Er gewann außerdem den Hochschulwettbewerb „Münster“ in der Kategorie „Duo/Kammermusik“.

Felix Janssen

begann seine musikalische Ausbildung schon im frühsten Kindesalter. Mit sechs Jahren bekam er seinen ersten Klavierunterricht. Zudem ist er mehrfacher Preisträger beim Wettbewerb „Jugend musiziert“ in den Kategorien „Solo Klavier“ und „Klavierbegleitung“. Erste Ensemble-Erfahrungen machte er im Alter von neun Jahren und ist seitdem in verschiedensten Besetzungen aktiv gewesen. 2013 erhielt Felix Janssen am Hümmling-Gymnasium Sögel sein Abitur und begann direkt im Anschluss ein Studium an der Universität Osnabrück. Dort studiert er Musik auf Lehramt und bekam bis 2015 bei Julia Habiger-Prause Klavierunterricht. Im Jahr 2015 begann er zudem ein Zweitstudium an der Hochschule Osnabrück im Fach Klavier. Seitdem ist er in der Klavierklasse von Prof. Joachim Rieke.

Juhee Lee

geboren in Paju, Südkorea. Ihre erste Klavierstunde bekam sie im Alter von vier Jahren. Mit ihren jungen 19 Jahren spielte Juhee das Tschaikowsky Klavierkonzert mit dem Gyeong-Gi High School Orchester im September 2009. Im Oktober 2010 begann Juhee ihr Musikstudium bei Prof. Clemens Rave an der Musikhochschule Münster. Nur ein paar Jahre später, im Januar 2013, gewann sie den 1. Platz beim Steinway–Förderpreis Wettbewerb. Im Jahr 2015 spielte Juhee die Moldau von B. Smetana in einer Live-Sendung beim Deutschlandradio Kultur „Hörprobe“. 2015 die Moldau von B. Smetana (8hdg.) in der Live-Sendung von Deutschlandradio Kultur „Hörprobe“.

Boy David Mackenroth

begann mit sieben Jahren das Klavierspiel. Unter der Förderung von Ursula König gewann er auf allen Ebenen des Wettbewerbs „Jugend musiziert“ zahlreiche erste Preise. Darüber hinaus erspielte er sich zwei erste Preise auf dem Bundesweiten Carl-Schroeder Wettbewerb. 2014 wurde Boy David mit dem Nordrhein-Westfälischen Begleiterpreis geehrt. Seit 2015 studiert er Klavier an der Musikhochschule Osnabrück bei Prof. Joachim Rieke. Im April 2016 wurde er zu einer Konzertreise nach Lublin (Polen) eingeladen.

Gleb Tchepki

der gebürtige Berliner begann im Kindesalter mit dem Klavierspiel. Die ersten Jahre waren geprägt von klassischer Musik. Als Jugendlicher entdeckte er die Liebe zum Jazz. Seitdem betätigt er sich in unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen und Genres, mal improvisierend, mal interpretierend – von Solo bis Big Band. Durch sein Studium in Osnabrück (seit 2013) bekam er die Gelegenheit, von namhaften Musikern aus der deutschen Jazz-Szene zu lernen: Florian Weber, Pablo Held und Lars Duppler kann er u.a. zu seinen Lehrern zählen.

Eva Preckwinkel

ist freischaffende Künstlerin mit den Schwerpunkten Malerei und Objekt. Zuletzt hat sie die Stadt Osnabrück als Künstlerin bei der hanseARTworks 2016 in Bergen (Norwegen) vertreten, wo sie eine Installation schuf. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit hat sie in den vergangenen Jahren unterschiedliche Kunstprojekte in Stadt und Landkreis Osnabrück initiiert, darunter das Ganzjahresprojekt „what happens to the garden?“ zum Kulturschwerpunkt „Garten“ der Stadt Osnabrück 2015, die Ausstellungen fifty-fifty (2004)/ fifty-fifty volume II (2014) und die „Skulpturenlandschaft Osnabrück 2007/2008“.

Marion Afling

ist freischaffende Künstlerin.

Bildergalerie

EnglishDeutsch