Be Absolutely Concrete - Drawing Worlds

June 22 - August 3, 2019

exhibition

Works
The exhibition “Be Absolutely Concrete” presents works by the international artist collective The Drawing Collective, supplemented by selected works from the hase29 open call.

 

24 + 7 international artists refer in their work to the formal language of constructivism and concrete art. New forms of expression in the mirror of the present open up a broad spectrum, from reduced pencil drawings to ink and charcoal, eraser needles, ballpoint pens, complex spatial line structures to color-intensive pictorial inventions. The exhibition reveals references to the reduced Bauhaus vocabulary of forms, as well as to the Osnabrück-born artist Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart with his geometric-abstract compositions.

more

Be absolutley concrete. Draw worlds

Drawing includes, among other things, a general activity that abstracts from reality: the draftsman divides the world on paper using a few lines, strokes and colored elements into a fictional and visible world of a composition - but always also into the undrawn white remaining spaces. A drawing is created in our consciousness through the few constructed lines that form a certain order and the many possible relationships that the viewer can think of as a separate world. For almost all artists in the Drawing Collection, an international artists' association that essentially communicates with one another digitally, this specific definition of drawing applies. The title of the exhibition is an allusion to a very well-known dictum of modernism: the French poet Arthur Rimbaud coined the formula Il faut être absolument moderne (19) in the 1873th century - an invitation to yourself to keep the spirit of the present so modern and present and to formulate it as contemporary as possible. At the same time, one can also discover drawings in this exhibition by artists who work less constructively than exploratively, i.e. who explore traces of movement of the sign, the production of a drawing in its processuality or the limits of the medium of drawing.

Drawing means sharing (in the visible / invisible) but also always communicating yourself. In trying to understand what I see in a drawing like a world on a small scale, I rely on language. Based on what I have actually seen, I can associate something new that goes beyond mere drawing. In the microscopic scribble drawings by Michael Perlberg and Anton Brüll, for example, we easily lose our bearings, while many of the works in the Drawing Collection, which consist of colored lines and surfaces, look like diagrams and visual arrangements that tell us something about how we ourselves are in an abstract, concrete way move with our own eyes on a screen. What I draw and what I imagine by drawing becomes concrete as a drawing - and increases the scope for dealing with our common world.

 Michael Kroeger

Participating artists

The Drawing Collective:
Christine Boiry
Anne Brochot
Liz Davidson
Elena Dombrovska
Ellen Golden
Munira Naqui
Michael Perlbach
Barbara Halnan
Daniel G. Hill
Jeff Kellar
Erdem Kükükköroglu
Emma Langridge
Danielle Lescot
Jean-Luc Manguin
Marilyn Chapin Massey
Frank Mauceri
Marion Piper
Tineke Porck
Grieteke Roosma
Diane Scott
Jamel Sghaier
Bogumila Strojna
Truong Thanh

hase29 selection:
Oliver Bekiersz
Anton Bröll
Caro Enax
Frank Gillich
Manfred Heinze
Nora Hüsemann
Julia Lia Walter

Curators

Jamel Sghaier
Elisabeth Lumme
Heike Höcherl
Michael Kroeger

 

Sponsors

Be Absolutely Concrete – Drawing Worlds

22. Juni – 3. August 2019

Ausstellung

Werke
Die Ausstellung „Be Absolutely Concrete“ präsentiert Werke des internationalen Künstlerkollektivs The Drawing Collective, ergänzt durch ausgewählte Arbeiten aus dem Open Call von hase29.

 

24 + 7 internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler beziehen sich in ihrer Arbeit auf die Formensprache des Konstruktivismus und der konkreten Kunst. Neue Ausdrucksformen im Spiegel der Gegenwart eröffnen ein breites Spektrum, von reduzierten Bleistiftzeichnungen über Tusche und Kohle, Radiernadel, Kugelschreiber, komplex-räumlichen Liniengebilden bis hin zu farbintensiven Bildfindungen. Die Ausstellung offenbart Bezugnahmen auf das reduzierte Bauhaus Formenvokabular, ebenso wie auf den in Osnabrück geborenen Künstler Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart mit seinen geometrisch-abstrakten Kompositionen.

mehr

Be absolutley concrete. Welten zeichnen

Zeichnen beinhaltet unter anderem eine allgemeine Aktivität, die von Wirklichkeit abstrahiert: der/die Zeichner*in teilt die Welt auf dem Papier durch wenige Linien, Striche und farbige Elemente in eine fiktive und sichtbare Welt einer Komposition – aber immer auch in die nicht gezeichneten weiß gebliebenen Zwischenräume. Eine Zeichnung entsteht in unserem Bewusstsein so durch die wenigen konstruierten Linien, die eine bestimmte Ordnung bilden und die vielen möglichen Beziehungen, die der/die Betrachter*in als eine eigene Welt hinzudenken kann. Bei fast allen Künstler*innen der Drawing Collection, einer internationalen Künstlervereinigung, die im Wesentlichen digital miteinander kommuniziert, ist diese konkrete Bestimmung des Zeichnens zutreffend. Der Titel der Ausstellung ist eine Anspielung eines sehr bekannten Dictums der Moderne: der französische Dichter Arthur Rimbaud prägte im 19. Jahrhundert die Formel Il faut être absolument moderne (1873) – eine Aufforderung an sich selbst, den Geist der jeweiligen Gegenwart so modern, geistesgegenwärtig und zeitgenössisch wie möglich zu formulieren. Gleichzeitig kann man in dieser Ausstellung auch Zeichnungen von Künstler*innen entdecken, die weniger konstruktiv als vielmehr explorativ arbeiten, die also Bewegungsspuren des Zeichens, das Produzieren einer Zeichnung in ihrer Prozessualität oder die Grenzen des Mediums Zeichnung erkunden.

Zeichnen heißt teilen (in Sichtbares/Unsichtbares) aber immer auch sich selbst mitteilen. Im Versuch, das, was ich in einer Zeichnung sehe, wie eine Welt im Kleinen zu begreifen, bin ich auf Sprache angewiesen. Ich kann, ausgehend vom konkret Gesehenen, etwas Neues assoziieren, das über die reine Zeichnung hinausreicht. In den mikroskopischen Kritzelzeichnungen von Michael Perlberg und Anton Brüll verlieren wir beispielsweise leicht die Orientierung während viele der aus farbigen Linien und Flächen bestehenden Arbeiten der Drawing Collection wie Diagramme und visuelle Anordnungen aussehen, die uns auf abstrakt-konkrete Weise etwas davon erzählen, wie wir uns mit unseren eigenen Augen auf einer Bildfläche bewegen. Was ich zeichne und zeichnend imaginiere, wird als Zeichnung konkret – und vergrößert die Spielräume im Umgang mit unserer gemeinsamen Welt.

 Michael Kröger

Teilnehmende Künstler*Innen

The Drawing Collective:
Christine Boiry
Anne Brochot
Liz Davidson
Elena Dombrovska
Ellen Golden
Munira Naqui
Michael Perlbach
Barbara Halnan
Daniel G. Hill
Jeff Kellar
Erdem Kükükköroglu
Emma Langridge
Danielle Lescot
Jean-Luc Manguin
Marilyn Chapin Massey
Frank Mauceri
Marion Piper
Tineke Porck
Grieteke Roosma
Diane Scott
Jamel Sghaier
Bogumila Strojna
Truong Thanh

hase29-Auswah l Selection:
Oliver Bekiersz
Anton Bröll
Caro Enax
Frank Gillich
Manfred Heinze
Nora Hüsemann
Julia Lia Walter

Kurator*Innen

Jamel Sghaier
Elisabeth Lumme
Heike Höcherl
Michael Kröger

 

Sponsoren

EnglishDeutsch